See other Hong Kong properties

Germany Hostel

Block -D-6F/D2,Chung King Mansion, 36-44 Nathan Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, Hong Kong, Distance from city centre: 12.9km

Rating: 65% from 18 reviews

  • 54%Atmosphere
  • 68%Staff
  • 65%Security
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 66%Value for money
  • 55%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • On the same floor there all those small hostels that actually belong to the same person. On the basement there's a dirty market full of people who propose you the worst things ever. I totally regret to have gone there.
  • 23%
  • 02 Mar 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • Hell on steroids. Which room you get really effects your experience. I got one with way too many dorms using one bathroom - that wasn't really fit for use. No common room. I seemed to be the only female guest and there was some really creepy behaviour from some of the male guests who seemed unhappy with the concept of sharing space with females. Horrible, aggressive atmosphere. Heavily infected with BED BUGS. I stayed the three nights I'd booked - but some guys left earlier than paid for!
  • 34%
  • 26 Feb 2014 Anonymous England
  • The staff, Jenalyn and Rowena, are both cheerful and helpful. The hostel is in a very good location.
  • 80%
  • 30 Jan 2014 Josh USA
  • You get what you pay for. Great budget hostel. Clean enough, perfect location, great price. I'll be back soon!
  • 71%
  • 27 Jan 2014 Andrew Canada
  • We booked a basic 6 bed mixed dorm. The room was not a bad one, but stinky and wet. The linen was also wet. Only one shower for a whole rooms compartment(dirty, no hot water, broken flush tank, hairs strewn all over the floor). The atmosphere is pretty unsafe and creepy, especially in the night. But its location wins (right by Tsim Sha Tsui). Anyway, that was the worst hostel I ever stayed in. Definitely, it costs much less money than they ask for.
  • 51%
  • 11 Jan 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Ok near shopping mall and mrt. Cheap.
  • 80%
  • 07 Jan 2014 punyanut Thailand
  • Overall it was bad. But, you will get what u pay for. Location is excellent, Tsim si shui. the whole building, Chung King, is crazy mass place. Just be careful with people around in the building. one good thing about this hostel is a good staff. Forgot his name, indian guy cleans our rooms and even do my laundry as my favor, very nice guy and hard worker who has a family in india. Give him a bottle of wiskey as a gift. Good for him.
  • 51%
  • 20 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Sayed short, and will go back... Jen and Rowena were really nice and easy going... Everything I needed was there, plus! Best value for the money... If u ve got cash to splash go for crown plaza I'm sure u won't even bother booking around hostels.com.. ...if u re on the budget, looking for hot shower, wifi...free coffee...tea...and cheap place in Hong Kong?... Well ...
  • 91%
  • 25 Nov 2013 Anonymous Bosnia And Herzegovina
  • I booked the Germany hostel, but I stayed at the City Guest House. The Paris Guest House, the City Guest House, the Singh Guest House and the Germany Hostel are same hostel. I booked single room. My room was very small but clean. But, toilet was broken and air conditioner was not good. Worst of all, I killed 12 bed bugs! Terrible! If you want to find the cheapest hostel, despite of bed bugs, you could stay here, but I really cannot recommend this hostel include of the others(all 4 hostels!).
  • 54%
  • 02 Nov 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • I stayed here for more than ten times so far. They have just upgraded the hostel. Very clean, secure and travelers friendly. The stuff are always there to help you with any question you have. They even gave me unexpected 10% off the bill. They serve free coffee and tea al day long in which is not the case in Hong Kong. Location is perfect just 2 min to MTR and close to all the stuff you want. I wouldn't pick but Algerian hostel while in hk
  • 89%
  • 22 Sep 2013 Anonymous Morocco
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »