See other Belfast properties

Global Village

87 University Street, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 87% from 20 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great welcome as soon as you arrive from the staff, you get loads of great information of what is going on in the city with tours, live bands nightlife etc. The facilities are really good with the whole hostel generating a really good vibe. Great location, great value for money. Keep it up guys.
  • 94%
  • 15 Feb 2015 Steven Scotland
  • Maybe the Best hostel we have ever been. Really nice atmosphere, and staff really friendly !
  • 86%
  • 07 Feb 2015 Anonymous
  • After coming here one night, I changed my travel plans so that I could come again. Awesome place where the staff hang out with you and actually know your name. Jamie's efforts at moving past surface conversations and getting deeper were certainly appreciated. It's those sort of people that make traveling pleasurable, and after I left my hostels couldn't compare and I felt like I was missing something big! Great place to meet others and make friends (ps Jamie fix your dreads)
  • 100%
  • 03 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I wish that every hostel could be like this one. From the moment I walked in, I felt like I was hanging out with old friends. Everyone on staff was great. Shoutout to Jamie, who despite giving bad directions to the hostel bathroom, was great at finding other spots. I was traveling alone, but felt welcome right away--I was so satisfied after a great night in room 6 that I ended up extending my stay, but even still I left wanting more. Clean hostel, great atmosphere, staff that aim to please.
  • 100%
  • 30 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It's one of the best hostels you'll probably ever stay.
  • 100%
  • 05 Dec 2014 Anonymous Cyprus
  • Having hair dryers and vanities in the women's dorm was amazing!
  • 100%
  • 21 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The staff here were so incredibly sweet, welcoming and helpful! They showed us the spots to visit and how to get there. They created a nice atmosphere and seemed to genuinely care about our experience with the hostel and the city. Colette in particular on the staff had tea and breakfast with us in the morning and made recommendations for our trip. I would definitely highly recommend staying here!
  • 89%
  • 18 Jul 2014 Marie USA
  • Staff was friendly, they cleaned every day. Minor free stuff like pasta, coffee and tea available to anyone staying there. The only issue I had was the mattresses are thin and I could feel a iron bar from the frame on my back, making sleep uncomfortable. But that is a owner issue, not a staff issue. They were great, tried to get people involved in going to bars or telling you activities. And you are only a 10-15 minute walk from the City Hall, center of Belfast.
  • 91%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I was unable to access any kind of internet to notify the staff I was unable to make my reservation for the one night I had booked. Completely out of my control involving a police matter. The staff at global village were aware of this as soon as I was able to access internet and still charged me for the room. Several emails went back and forth as to why they wouldn't refund my booking. They could have done this but chose not to. Won't book there and suggest you look else where.
  • 20%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Kelly Australia
  • Very good place! We highly recommend it and will definitely come back if we visit Belfast again. Nice people, very nice staff, amazing furniture! :)
  • 100%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Anonymous Austria
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

15 fantastic Irish bars you can party in on St. Patrick's Day

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »