Globe Trott Inns
Real reviews from fellow travellers
These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.
Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.
“ VERY GOOD HOSTEL ”
Thank you very the positive review, we hope to see you again. Enjoy your travels.
- 16 Mar 2014 SERGEY Russia
“ The location is not good. A dirty neighborhood in east London. It's a 40 minute subway to Big Ben. The hostel itself is pretty old and dirty. There are always dirty dishes piled up in the kitchen. The worst mattress I ever slept on. It felt like it was just springs and wire covered by fabric. ”
Hello. We are very sorry to read that you did not have a good time here. We have noted all of your comments and we will work to improve the hostel. Unfortunately we cannot do anything about the hostels location, but clearly inform guests before they book using maps and Hostelworlds location section. We encourage future guests to research before they book to avoid disappointment. However 40 minutes to central London is a very good time by London standards. Thanks again for the review, take care.
- 04 Mar 2014 Corbin USA
“ My biggest issue with this place: so many signs for coffee/tea area and free coffee are posted HOWEVER in the kitchen there is no such thing and also no cups for heating up water. Maybe they were all hiding the 2 days I was here. Overall a good staff and crowd but sucks that there's no coffee and no pub. So this hostel advertises that it is right above a pub...a private one that we are not allowed to go to, that was lame. The closest bar is just a 20 min walk thru the hooood. ”
Hello. Sorry about the coffee. We also have some in our store room.A quick visit to reception wouyld have resolved that issue. I'm not sure why you were told the bar wa private as its open to the public. We hope it didn't spoil your stay too much. Take care.
- 16 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
- “ I felt safe leaving my belongings in the hostel even without a lock/locker. Nothing was stolen or damaged. Location is in a somewhat rough area but I did not feel in danger. Staff was very kind and helpful. The cleanliness was not great but certainly not the worst either. There is a £10 keycard deposit that was not mentioned, but we were able to get ours returned early with an explanation. Other reviews said each keycard opened every room in the hostel but this is not true. Overall, very decent. ”
- 16 Nov 2013 Rachel USA
- “ The first night I stayed at the hostel it was very dirty. And the next day there still hadn't been any cleaning. Staff not very accommodating. Seemed more interested in listening to music. Only one bath at each floor and two toilets, however the only sink was in the bathroom so it wasn't really useful. Bath not very funktional. Kitchen and lounge in one with the kitchen not being very large. I would not return to the hostel and can't recommand it to anyone. ”
- 06 Jul 2013 Anonymous Denmark
- “ I loved this hostel!!! It was a bit far off but I do not care, the people were so nice! The workers were ANGELS! So understandable and helpful. Umbrellas for a rainy day? Wow who would do that? I was very surprised, I made a lot of friends there and my buddy had a blast at this hostel! Will definitely come back! It is also DIRT cheap!!! ”
- 26 May 2013 Mai-Linh Canada
- “ very basic hostel - provides a bed and not much more. a high number of guests are permanent guests which has (in my opinion negative) effects on hostel atmosphere, reception is complicated through the bar downstairs, very basic cooking facilities and average bunkbeds ”
- 28 Apr 2013 Anonymous Austria