See other London properties

Globe Trott Inns

1 Barking Road, London, London, England, Distance from city centre: 11.2km

Rating: 70% from 6 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 56%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 56%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • VERY GOOD HOSTEL
    Owner Comment

    Thank you very the positive review, we hope to see you again. Enjoy your travels.

  • 80%
  • 16 Mar 2014 SERGEY Russia
  • The location is not good. A dirty neighborhood in east London. It's a 40 minute subway to Big Ben. The hostel itself is pretty old and dirty. There are always dirty dishes piled up in the kitchen. The worst mattress I ever slept on. It felt like it was just springs and wire covered by fabric.
    Owner Comment

    Hello. We are very sorry to read that you did not have a good time here. We have noted all of your comments and we will work to improve the hostel. Unfortunately we cannot do anything about the hostels location, but clearly inform guests before they book using maps and Hostelworlds location section. We encourage future guests to research before they book to avoid disappointment. However 40 minutes to central London is a very good time by London standards. Thanks again for the review, take care.

  • 51%
  • 04 Mar 2014 Corbin USA
  • My biggest issue with this place: so many signs for coffee/tea area and free coffee are posted HOWEVER in the kitchen there is no such thing and also no cups for heating up water. Maybe they were all hiding the 2 days I was here. Overall a good staff and crowd but sucks that there's no coffee and no pub. So this hostel advertises that it is right above a pub...a private one that we are not allowed to go to, that was lame. The closest bar is just a 20 min walk thru the hooood.
    Owner Comment

    Hello. Sorry about the coffee. We also have some in our store room.A quick visit to reception wouyld have resolved that issue. I'm not sure why you were told the bar wa private as its open to the public. We hope it didn't spoil your stay too much. Take care.

  • 69%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I felt safe leaving my belongings in the hostel even without a lock/locker. Nothing was stolen or damaged. Location is in a somewhat rough area but I did not feel in danger. Staff was very kind and helpful. The cleanliness was not great but certainly not the worst either. There is a £10 keycard deposit that was not mentioned, but we were able to get ours returned early with an explanation. Other reviews said each keycard opened every room in the hostel but this is not true. Overall, very decent.
  • 71%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Rachel USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »