See other Kyoto properties

Gojo Guest House

3-396-2 Gojobashihigashi, Higashiyama-Ku, Kyoto, Japan, Distance from city centre: 1.9km

Rating: 87% from 10 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel is very old, but the atmosphere is very good. Just for your information, the bathroom is old style bathroom.
  • 71%
  • 24 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Awesome staff!! I liked it very much there. The only thing i have to say, as a non smoker it is hard to be in a Hostel wherenit is alowed to smoke. It is okay in the common room/ Café. But the smoke goes up and you can smell it sometimes in your room. That can be difficult for some one more sensitive then me.
  • 86%
  • 31 Oct 2014 Melanie Germany
  • Great place, great location and lovely japaneese style rooms. English speaking staff that was very friendly and helpful. I stayed in a female dorm and there were plenty of room for luggage.
  • 97%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Malin Sweden
  • Great staff!!! Great price!!! Great location!!! Good vibe!!! Anyway, awesome, my favorite hostel in Japan!!! Guillaume, Canada
  • 94%
  • 19 Sep 2014 guillaume
  • I only stayed one night and it was brilliant, the staff were very friendly and I really couldn't think of a fault with the place, I stayed in the mixed male dorm and we all had our own nice space which was well laid out! :)
  • 94%
  • 20 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
  • The facilities could improve.
  • 60%
  • 23 May 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • A great place with a fantastic and welcoming staff and amazing japanese-style bedrooms (tatami and futon) which create a very traditional japanese atmosphere. I don't wan't to miss that experience on my trip through Japan.
  • 91%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Verena Germany
  • This place is amazing, walking distance to kiyomizu-dera and gion you couldn't ask for more in a hostel. The staff are friendly, helpful and always up for a chat (in English)The place is traditional and rustic with a great atmosphere, the cafe downstairs was a welcome change to most other hostels. The only negative is that it's not walking distance to a train station, but the staff redily provide you with a bus and location map to counter this. If I'm in Kyoto again I will be staying here again.
  • 97%
  • 17 Apr 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Nice traditional japanese style hostel with super friendly staff. There is a cafe downstair where you can grab a drink, do readings, chat and plan your trip. Definitely recommended!
  • 91%
  • 26 Jan 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »