See other San Francisco properties

Green Tortoise Hostel

494 Broadway, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 90% from 16 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Really liked that place! The atmosphere and the vibes were just amazing. San Francisco might not become my most favorite city if it wasn't for Green Tortoise!
  • 94%
  • 14 Jul 2016 Anonymous Ukraine
  • Loved it!
  • 97%
  • 22 May 2016 Sandra Netherlands
  • Loved the events every night, really helped us to meet some new friends
  • 94%
  • 09 Apr 2016 Peter USA
  • I liked staying at this hostel even if it was pretty pricy. It's clean and the rooms are nice. The staff was also really helpful.
  • 86%
  • 02 Apr 2016 Kristin Germany
  • I love this hostel and have stayed many times. My favorite thing is the free dinners 3 times weekly.
  • 97%
  • 08 Feb 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Best hostel I've ever been to. Staff was so kind in a genuine way, very helpful and informative. Cleaning lady does her job so well, the bathrooms were immaculate. All and all great vibe!
  • 100%
  • 18 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • This has been one of the best hostels, I have stayed in so far. It was very clean and the staff was super helpful. The breakfast was better than average and additionally they offered free dinner 3 times a week - super tasty! The only minor thing was that the toilets and showers have been rather limited, so that at peak times in the morning (around eight, nine o'clock) you sometimes had to wait- but only 5 to ten minutes usually. apart from that everything was great and a very nice location.
  • 97%
  • 03 Jan 2016 Carolin Germany
  • Hostel is located on Broadway, basically red light district which strip club etc. But toilets/showers are great being in a separate room, having piracy. Good atmosphere and good common room. Good Hostel would stay again 4/5
  • 83%
  • 22 Nov 2015 James Australia
  • We had a wonderful experience at the hostel, had a great vibe and everyone was very friendly. Neighbourhood was well located and we felt safe walking around. It was nice that they had a coupon for parking (garage was a little far from the hostel but walking distance). Clean, safe and everyone respected being quiet at night, but lots of activities available if someone wanted to join.
  • 89%
  • 04 Sep 2015 Melissa Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There are so many areas in London waiting to be explored. One of the best parts is that many people don't bother looking for the quirky places that you don't often hear about. ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »