See other Seattle properties

Green Tortoise Seattle Hostel

105 1/2 Pike Street, Seattle, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 88% from 56 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Wonderful one-night stay at the Green Tortoise Hostel. The staff were very helpful and always available. No complaints at all!!
  • 100%
  • 28 Oct 2014 Kari Canada
  • Overall it was a great experience, my only comment would be that the manager herself didn't seem that welcoming. I'm sure she just had an off day! I'd definitely stay there again. And my other comment would be, that they need to disclose that you are supposed to pay $20 in cash for the deposit.
  • 94%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Saeed
  • BEST location! Right in the middle of downtown Seattle and really nice not having to worry about paying for transportation. I also loved having the individual bathrooms. Staff was really nice!
  • 100%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Hannah USA
  • Room smelt terrible Lots of old men Unventilated bathrooms Seedy
  • 46%
  • 03 Oct 2014 Craig USA
  • Loved how it was right on the corner of pike place market! Great central location! Loved the free pancake/egg breakfast! Enjoyed the dorms, clean, private and quiet. Liked the single bathrooms, never had to wait!
  • 80%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Catherine USA
  • Everything is nice. Especially Location is perfect.
  • 91%
  • 27 Aug 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • This is the best hostel Ive stayed in so far. The rooms are away from the common areas which keeps things quiet at night. The bunk beds were great, comfortable mattresses, privacy curtains to close off your bunk with a personal fan and light and lots of outlets, even on the top bunk. Sink in the room was a plus. The storage lockers were huge! My only complaint was that the shower floors were a bit slimey, wish I brought shower shoes.
  • 86%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Trisha
  • The Green Tortoise is a really awesome hostel. The location is amazing, right at the entrance to Pike Place Market and walking distance to Seattle Center. The activites are fun, especially the Dead Guys tour and the pub crawl and the free pasta and taco dinners are delicious!
  • 94%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Best location, rooms are small and a little dark, but each bed has it's own light, fan and 4 powerpoints. Lots of activities happening throughout the week too. And you should definitely do the free walking tour, it was the best I've been on with so many ideas!!
  • 97%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • We loved the breakfast, how you were able to make your own pancakes and eggs. The only complaints we had were that there was no AC, and the wifi didn't work for us.
  • 94%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Taylor USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »