See other Seattle properties

Green Tortoise Seattle Hostel

105 1/2 Pike Street, Seattle, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 88% from 44 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • the place is perfect i usually stay in a hotel but was on a tight budget so it worked out quite nicely. i was on the top bunk which wasnt no problem for me
  • 97%
  • 20 Aug 2015 Cheryl Canada
  • This was my first stay at a hostel and it was outstanding. There was a pervasive sense of community. Everyone was helpful, above and beyond what was expected. I hope to stay here again, in the future.
  • 100%
  • 09 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The Green Tortoise was an extremely pleasant surprise. My wife and I stayed the night in a four bed dorm in early August 2015 for a wedding. For a city hostel and the throughput this place experiences, the facilities were exceptionally clean, amazing for a city that is home to the whole grunge movement. I live in Denver, but grew up outside Seattle, so I feel like I have some insight into the city. The location could not be better--across the street from Pike Place Market.
  • 100%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Ryan USA
  • Best hostel EVER!!
  • 100%
  • 23 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I had a fantastic time and would definitely stay there again no question. It's already the second time I've stayed there and they have my repeat business.
  • 86%
  • 21 Jun 2015 Taylor Canada
  • I stayed two nights and asked for any available space for another and they were able to fit me in to another room which was so wonderful. The place is located right next to pike's place and ideal for sight seeing. The dude who checked me in was so so so helpful. Smoking lounge for cigs and cannabis which was pretty great and tons of hostel activities to meet and hang out with people. The one and only strange thing was that my female dorm on my extra night had a dude show up and stay in it??
  • 94%
  • 09 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Green tortoise hostel is located right next to Pike Place market which is great and there is also a lot of other major attractions, coffee shops, and restaurants within walking distance. Other things I like are that the rooms are set up for privacy and there is free dinner 3X a week. It is definitely worth a stay when sightseeing in Seattle.
  • 94%
  • 31 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Thank you!
  • 91%
  • 23 May 2015 Jorge USA
  • Friendly, engaging, and professional staff. Could not have had a better stay!
  • 100%
  • 15 May 2015 Don USA
  • Keep up the good work.
  • 86%
  • 12 May 2015 Fredrik
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »