See other Seattle properties

Green Tortoise Seattle Hostel

105 1/2 Pike Street, Seattle, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 87% from 62 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I was THOROUGHLY impressed with the Green Tortoise. I have absolute no complaints or criticisms. The location was wonderful. the staff was great. It was very clean. There was ample room for my belongs in the locking bins. I felt safe. I was so pleased with the free breakfast in the morning. There was great access to activities and information about the city. In all seriousness, I really want to stay there again. If I can ever make it back to Seattle, I will make it a point to stay there.
  • 100%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • An absolutely fantastic experience. There were a ton of bathrooms with shower facilities. The bunks had privacy curtains, individual lockers, lights and fans. It's right at the heart of Pike Place and close to so many Seattle sights and experiences. The rates are more than excellent value for money. I just wish I had some time to have breakfast with them and chill in the common room. Great, great, great hostel.
  • 97%
  • 16 Jul 2014 Erin USA
  • The location was excellent and right in front of Pike's Market. The sheets and bedding were also clean and there was always planned activities or dinners on most nights. The rooms were a little snug but still just enough for most. But what makes this place really great is the Staff. I have never met more helpful and more hospitable hoteliers in my life. I went with my nephew and because of his uncomfortable feelings of strangers, this great staff was so accommodating to me.Wonderful place/people
  • 97%
  • 13 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very nice and friendly stuff. We stayed 3 nights to discover Seattle. Breakfast and free diner is a real bonus and also jummy. Thank you :)
  • 91%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • The a Green. Tortoise Hostel was great! Of all the hostels I stayed in on this trip the Green Tortoise was the best. The staff was super friendly and helpful and the location is perfect.
  • 97%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Brian USA
  • Thank you very much, I forgot a piroshky at the refrigerator :( . anyway I really enjoy staying at GT Hostel. :)
  • 91%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • I had a very enjoyable Hostel experience. The price includes breakfast, plus dinners 3 nights/week (Tues, Thurs, Sat.). Pikes Place Market is only a block away, which is convenient but also somewhat noisy at night. Indoor storage for bikes.
  • 86%
  • 22 Jun 2014 Karl USA
  • Excellent atmosphere, location, rooms and common areas. It can get noisy, but that is normal in hostels. Spacious lockers and nice beds that provide a reasonable degree of privacy. Totally recommended!
  • 91%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Absolutely loved my stay at the green tortoise. It was right on the pike place market which was always buzzing with excitement and it was only a five minute walk down to the beautiful waterfront. The staff were awesome and really friendly and there were hostel run events on almost everyday that I was there. I highly recommend the canoe trip! I had an awesome trip to Seattle and the green tortoise was definitely the place to stay. It is a hostel for making great friends and having fun nights.
  • 97%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Christina New Zealand
  • It was my first time visiting Seattle. I had wonderful time there. Staffs were very helpful giving out informations that I asked for the public transportation and locations where I wanted to visit. The location of hostel is very good. I walked most places I wanted to see by foot and enjoyed it very much. I took ferry to visit Bainbridge Island; It was beautiful.
  • 100%
  • 28 May 2014 Laiyu USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »