See other Seattle properties

Green Tortoise Seattle Hostel

105 1/2 Pike Street, Seattle, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 88% from 56 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Excellent location, right off the Public Market and walking distance to major bus stops and the light rail station. The bathrooms were by far the cleanest, most comfortable and spatious I've ever been in any hostel and the breakfast was but a treat! Highly recommended.
  • 89%
  • 04 Jan 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Really enjoyed my stay here. Stayed in 3 different rooms. Rooms and building clean. Staff is uber helpful and friendly. They help create a great vibe and atmosphere. The location is perfect for going in any direction. Daily breakfast and bi-nightly dinners are a great way to meet others. This place is what all hostels should strive for. Well done you!
  • 91%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Nice place, a lot to do and a good kitchen
  • 66%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Linde Sweden
  • Perfect location.
  • 91%
  • 25 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Bunks were good, I like having curtains and a lamp by my bed, and you can sit on the bottom bunk without knocking your head against the top one. Clean facilities. Had some loud neighbours(other room) one night, but they felt silent after 1am. The common area is really open, making it easy to meet people. The one thing I didn't like was noise coming from Pike St after midnight. It died off after 2am.
  • 91%
  • 13 Nov 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • I only stay 2 nights in the hostel and Im glad that I didnt stay longer because the rooms were so tiny and unconfortable. You couldn't move a lot and the noice was awfull, but if you dont care about the space and you are more interested in the atmosphere of the place, it is a great choice! They also have great tours and the guide was very nice and cool! The location is also great
  • 74%
  • 11 Nov 2013 Macarena Chile
  • The staff was helpful but busy. Conveniently located across from Pikes Place, but that area is sketchy at night, lots of homeless people wandering around. The bathrooms were large, individual and lockable, complete with shower, toilet, and sink. There are 4 on the 2nd floor, I usually find one that's unoccupied when I need it. There is definitely a variety of people staying at the place from young to old retirees, and people kicked out of their home for the night.
  • 77%
  • 23 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Great location, cleanly, and well organised. Staff are helpful, cheery, and usually hanging around and don't mind being bothered for a quick chat/question. Love the communal bong and pipes on offer in the smoking room. Main lobby area could be planned out a bit better, however. Not the best to integrate everyone together. also, the kitchen is perhaps lacking some particular touches to make it more welcoming to cook your own food.
  • 91%
  • 23 Oct 2013 Anonymous Scotland
  • This hosetel was pretty awesome most of things. Free Wi-Fi, Free breakfast and dinner(Tuesday, Thursday only) everything is perfect for traveler. If i could use Wi-Fi in my room(8 mixed dorm), it would be great more than now.
  • 83%
  • 22 Oct 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • I loved it here! The best thing except for the magnificent location was probably all the different tours and dinners and pubcrawls the hostel organize almost every day. Staff as well as other guests were very friendly, the hostel was clean and beds good. So were the bathrooms. Definitely recommended.
  • 97%
  • 21 Oct 2013 Sara Norway
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »