See other San Francisco properties

H.I. San Francisco-City Center

685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 83% from 24 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 60%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Even though you're in the middle of the tenderloin I never felt unsafe. The staff keeps an eye on everybody coming in. I got a lot of Information from the staff regarding a trip to big sur. The breakfast is amazing: free bagels, jam, cream cheese, orange Juice, oatmeal, coffee and tea. You Need to pay 1 $ for pancakes and 2$ for pancakes with eggs. Prepared by the chef. The Internet did'nt reach well enough in the rooms but was sufficient in the Lobby. Sometimes troubles with it but overall ok.
  • 89%
  • 04 Feb 2014 Christian Ronald Germany
  • The hostel was located in a sketchy part of town, but there wasn't a moment when I didn't feel safe inside! There is plenty to do at the hostel and I would definitely consider booking here again.
  • 83%
  • 17 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel is in a beautiful, well decorated building with good bathroom and kitchen facilities. It was clean and the staff were helpful if not overtly friendly. The hostel is located in the Tenderloin, an area which also goes by the name "Crackhead City" so if hordes of homeless people and the overwhelming smell of urine bother you then this is probably not the place for you. That said the security of the building is good and I did not see any incidents while I was there.
  • 77%
  • 16 Jan 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • The location is not very good, neighbors are not very safe, it is not convenient for the people who don t have a car... Internet is slow, but it is very clean and people are very friendly.
  • 63%
  • 29 Dec 2013 Yinglun China
  • The staff were super nice and helpful! Thanks a lot! And the room is clean and comfortable. And I especially like the common areas where the atmosphere was good and you can meet and socialize with interesting people from all around the world and have fun. I had a good time staying there.
  • 91%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Anonymous China
  • The hostel is nice. The people who work there is awesome. Very helpful and helpful. The only problem with this hostel is the location. Even if I didn't have any episode of violence there is a very unsafe neighborhood. During the night if you don't have car you have to make a lot of extra block to avoid drugs dealers. I know that this is not problem related with the hostel is more related with the police but they have to make more denunciation about those situation.
  • 80%
  • 13 Dec 2013 Anonymous Argentina
  • The facility was good. It is close to Union Square. Only thing I didn't like is the location in a Tenderloin district. Other than that it was fine.
  • 77%
  • 17 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The staff was attentive. And the linen was clean and crisp almost as if they were ironed. The down encased comforter was the best I have EVER had in a blanket cover from any HOSTEL. Europe covers do not compare to San Francisco City Center. I appreciated the bar like environment that doubled as a breakfast bar and the kitchen had an industrial vibe yet user friendly in that you wash your own dishes. How 'bout that real dishes, not paper plates AMAZING. The Big screen TV movie had a theater feel.
  • 80%
  • 16 Aug 2013 Jae USA
  • We had a private room, the room was clean and modern for an old building. Bathrooms are very small and the hot water didn't work most of the time, We consulted the staff to have it fixed, but in the 4 days we were there not much was done about it. Bridgette Front desk and Paul in the Bar were very accommodating and are well suited for there roles in the Hostel.... Well Done, The Staff were friendly and they were very conscious of everyones safety.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for the kind words about our staff! I am sorry to hear the hot water was not working. Our maintenance staff did look into this twice. Investigating further, this room is a challenge in that the water takes 3-4 mins. to heat up during off-peak hours due to plumbing layout. we don't have a way to easily fix this issue, but we can certainly instruct guests about it. I am very sorry that you were inconvenienced as this information was not passed on to you. Apologies, -Michael

  • 80%
  • 09 Aug 2013 Teena Australia
  • The staff could be a little more likeable.
  • 89%
  • 26 Jun 2013 Rodrigo Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »