See other Chicago properties

HI Chicago, The J.Ira & Nicki Harris Family Hostel

24 East Congress Parkway, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.5km

Rating: 91% from 55 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 93%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel is very accessible. It is located at a great spot at downtown Chicago and you can easily walk to the main sightseeing places and the metro runs around the corner too! Staff was being nice and helpful every time I needed something. Free breakfast and activities such as walking tours and get together dinners were a big plus!
  • 91%
  • 17 Mar 2016 Anonymous Finland
  • my first time in a HI hostel. Great place. A little weird sleeping in a room full of strangers. Got a sleep mask because wasn't sure if it would be rude to ask people to turn off the light at night.
  • 100%
  • 06 Jan 2016 Bethany
  • I ve traveled many cities all over the world, but this hostel in Chicago is definitely the BEST hostel I ever ve been. Amazingly clean and organized, cozy, many entertainments including pingpong and pulls, extra spacious hall. Breakfast was also satisfactory. Overall, perfect. Chicago HIhostel is definitelly 'go.'
  • 100%
  • 06 Jan 2016 mingyu South Korea
  • Very good location, facilities and atmosphere, and breakfast as well. Worth the money!
  • 83%
  • 25 Dec 2015 Chulin China
  • Good hostel in a very good location, very happy with the visit!
  • 89%
  • 16 Dec 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • the dorm is so clean and the employees are so nice
  • 89%
  • 20 Nov 2015 Anonymous China
  • I can't say enough good things about this hostel! The location was absolutely fantastic, and the staff were very friendly and informative. The facility was also well-kept and very clean. This hostel had everything you need (including free wifi, breakfast, linens, towels, etc)!
  • 100%
  • 18 Nov 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very impressed with cleanliness.
  • 97%
  • 11 Nov 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great Place to stay, I would stay again
  • 100%
  • 07 Nov 2015 Antonio Mexico
  • This was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. Surprisingly clean and the staff was nice.
  • 100%
  • 26 Oct 2015 Christopher USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »