See other Chicago properties

HI Chicago, The J.Ira & Nicki Harris Family Hostel

24 East Congress Parkway, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.5km

Rating: 93% from 48 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 95%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I think HI Chicago hostel is the best HI hostel. Actually, I'm staying at the different city's HI hostel now, but CHICAGO HI HOSTEL IS MUCH MUCH BETTER WITH EVERYTHING! The room is much bigger, and bed is comfortable too, and the shower is also pretty good. And the location is perfect! I can go everywhere on my foot from the hostel. If I visit Chicago again, I'm sure I'll stay at the HI Chicago hostel again. I fully recommend this place to everyone.
  • 100%
  • 26 Jun 2016 Seunghee South Korea
  • I love the place. Thank you for existing.
  • 100%
  • 18 Jun 2016 Esther Haiti
  • Really excellent hostel! Great lounge area, spacious rooms, HUGE lockers-- and very close to all El trains! This was my sister's first time in a hostel, and I think she's spoiled now! I loved that there was a specific, self-serve room for storing luggage before check-in/after check-out... nobody squirreling your things away to a backroom that you can't access without permission. I do wish there were a few more toilets/showers per floor, but overall a great experience!
  • 97%
  • 12 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Have already recommended this hostel.
  • 100%
  • 30 Apr 2016 Alexandra USA
  • This was the first time I was staying in a hostel, that too in a completely unknown city. Hi Chicago is a really good hostel to stay. It is in the core of the downtown. Walkable distance to Millennium Park, Willis Tower & Art Institute of Chicago. Subway stations at a walkable distance as well. Breakfast was pretty decent. The cleaning staff was a little slow, but overall the service was highly satisfying.
  • 89%
  • 29 Apr 2016 Anonymous India
  • This hostel is very accessible. It is located at a great spot at downtown Chicago and you can easily walk to the main sightseeing places and the metro runs around the corner too! Staff was being nice and helpful every time I needed something. Free breakfast and activities such as walking tours and get together dinners were a big plus!
  • 91%
  • 17 Mar 2016 Anonymous Finland
  • my first time in a HI hostel. Great place. A little weird sleeping in a room full of strangers. Got a sleep mask because wasn't sure if it would be rude to ask people to turn off the light at night.
  • 100%
  • 06 Jan 2016 Bethany
  • I ve traveled many cities all over the world, but this hostel in Chicago is definitely the BEST hostel I ever ve been. Amazingly clean and organized, cozy, many entertainments including pingpong and pulls, extra spacious hall. Breakfast was also satisfactory. Overall, perfect. Chicago HIhostel is definitelly 'go.'
  • 100%
  • 06 Jan 2016 mingyu South Korea
  • Very good location, facilities and atmosphere, and breakfast as well. Worth the money!
  • 83%
  • 25 Dec 2015 Chulin China
  • Good hostel in a very good location, very happy with the visit!
  • 89%
  • 16 Dec 2015 Anonymous Finland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »