See other Chicago properties

HI Chicago, The J.Ira & Nicki Harris Family Hostel

24 East Congress Parkway, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.5km

Rating: 94% from 40 reviews

  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 96%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 97%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff were amazing, facilities were extremely modern and there was an overwhelming amount of free activities.
  • 100%
  • 28 Sep 2016 Jamie England
  • I stayed in a room for 10 females. The room was large enough space for everybody and clean. An excellent location just in the LOOP. A kitchen, toilet and bathroom was very close to the room. Excellent breakfast for free available every morning. Laundry available on every floor for 1.5$. And it is cheap.
  • 100%
  • 24 Sep 2016 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • Everything was great, once I figured out how to use the elevator.Living area was super nice and laundry facilities were very easy to use. The only minor thing was that the water pressure in the girls bathroom on the third floor sucked. I was very appreciative that you guys were able to hold my bag during the day and one awesome employee let me use the second story bathroom to change out of my suit and heels for my interview and back into comfortable clothes. I would go back again!
  • 86%
  • 16 Sep 2016 Amanda USA
  • We stayed for 3 nights and we schecked out ALL three nights crazy! one night sheets were from previous people waited for the sheets they did not come so we went to play pool.Management got mad we were not in room really? We also paid more than what was quoted on HI website. but needed the room ,checking out every night seemed ridiculous due to the GREEN policy of changing sheets? Also for no reason the front desk manager? didn't like us for no reason rude and irritated with us, We spent 450.00
  • 71%
  • 11 Aug 2016 Spencer USA
  • in my past when I was working I stayed in almost all star hotels and when I compare value for money , I would put J Ira / Nick Haris hostel no 1 when I red it will be dormitory accommodation I was a bit concerned , but this was much much more , a fridge , cooking range , micro wave , an ante room to one,s room , v good breakfast buffet and friendly staff ? all for $ 38.00 + tax ? it was a great experience - thanks hostel / danke schone , mucho gracias , shukran , bahoot abhar
  • 100%
  • 04 Aug 2016 shahab India
  • I think HI Chicago hostel is the best HI hostel. Actually, I'm staying at the different city's HI hostel now, but CHICAGO HI HOSTEL IS MUCH MUCH BETTER WITH EVERYTHING! The room is much bigger, and bed is comfortable too, and the shower is also pretty good. And the location is perfect! I can go everywhere on my foot from the hostel. If I visit Chicago again, I'm sure I'll stay at the HI Chicago hostel again. I fully recommend this place to everyone.
  • 100%
  • 26 Jun 2016 Seunghee South Korea
  • I love the place. Thank you for existing.
  • 100%
  • 18 Jun 2016 Esther Haiti
  • Really excellent hostel! Great lounge area, spacious rooms, HUGE lockers-- and very close to all El trains! This was my sister's first time in a hostel, and I think she's spoiled now! I loved that there was a specific, self-serve room for storing luggage before check-in/after check-out... nobody squirreling your things away to a backroom that you can't access without permission. I do wish there were a few more toilets/showers per floor, but overall a great experience!
  • 97%
  • 12 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Have already recommended this hostel.
  • 100%
  • 30 Apr 2016 Alexandra USA
  • This was the first time I was staying in a hostel, that too in a completely unknown city. Hi Chicago is a really good hostel to stay. It is in the core of the downtown. Walkable distance to Millennium Park, Willis Tower & Art Institute of Chicago. Subway stations at a walkable distance as well. Breakfast was pretty decent. The cleaning staff was a little slow, but overall the service was highly satisfying.
  • 89%
  • 29 Apr 2016 Anonymous India
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »