See other Chicago properties

HI Chicago, The J.Ira & Nicki Harris Family Hostel

24 East Congress Parkway, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.5km

Rating: 93% from 47 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 94%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 96%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We stayed for 3 nights and we schecked out ALL three nights crazy! one night sheets were from previous people waited for the sheets they did not come so we went to play pool.Management got mad we were not in room really? We also paid more than what was quoted on HI website. but needed the room ,checking out every night seemed ridiculous due to the GREEN policy of changing sheets? Also for no reason the front desk manager? didn't like us for no reason rude and irritated with us, We spent 450.00
  • 71%
  • 11 Aug 2016 Spencer USA
  • in my past when I was working I stayed in almost all star hotels and when I compare value for money , I would put J Ira / Nick Haris hostel no 1 when I red it will be dormitory accommodation I was a bit concerned , but this was much much more , a fridge , cooking range , micro wave , an ante room to one,s room , v good breakfast buffet and friendly staff ? all for $ 38.00 + tax ? it was a great experience - thanks hostel / danke schone , mucho gracias , shukran , bahoot abhar
  • 100%
  • 04 Aug 2016 shahab India
  • I think HI Chicago hostel is the best HI hostel. Actually, I'm staying at the different city's HI hostel now, but CHICAGO HI HOSTEL IS MUCH MUCH BETTER WITH EVERYTHING! The room is much bigger, and bed is comfortable too, and the shower is also pretty good. And the location is perfect! I can go everywhere on my foot from the hostel. If I visit Chicago again, I'm sure I'll stay at the HI Chicago hostel again. I fully recommend this place to everyone.
  • 100%
  • 26 Jun 2016 Seunghee South Korea
  • I love the place. Thank you for existing.
  • 100%
  • 18 Jun 2016 Esther Haiti
  • Really excellent hostel! Great lounge area, spacious rooms, HUGE lockers-- and very close to all El trains! This was my sister's first time in a hostel, and I think she's spoiled now! I loved that there was a specific, self-serve room for storing luggage before check-in/after check-out... nobody squirreling your things away to a backroom that you can't access without permission. I do wish there were a few more toilets/showers per floor, but overall a great experience!
  • 97%
  • 12 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Have already recommended this hostel.
  • 100%
  • 30 Apr 2016 Alexandra USA
  • This was the first time I was staying in a hostel, that too in a completely unknown city. Hi Chicago is a really good hostel to stay. It is in the core of the downtown. Walkable distance to Millennium Park, Willis Tower & Art Institute of Chicago. Subway stations at a walkable distance as well. Breakfast was pretty decent. The cleaning staff was a little slow, but overall the service was highly satisfying.
  • 89%
  • 29 Apr 2016 Anonymous India
  • This hostel is very accessible. It is located at a great spot at downtown Chicago and you can easily walk to the main sightseeing places and the metro runs around the corner too! Staff was being nice and helpful every time I needed something. Free breakfast and activities such as walking tours and get together dinners were a big plus!
  • 91%
  • 17 Mar 2016 Anonymous Finland
  • my first time in a HI hostel. Great place. A little weird sleeping in a room full of strangers. Got a sleep mask because wasn't sure if it would be rude to ask people to turn off the light at night.
  • 100%
  • 06 Jan 2016 Bethany
  • I ve traveled many cities all over the world, but this hostel in Chicago is definitely the BEST hostel I ever ve been. Amazingly clean and organized, cozy, many entertainments including pingpong and pulls, extra spacious hall. Breakfast was also satisfactory. Overall, perfect. Chicago HIhostel is definitelly 'go.'
  • 100%
  • 06 Jan 2016 mingyu South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There are so many areas in London waiting to be explored. One of the best parts is that many people don't bother looking for the quirky places that you don't often hear about. ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »