See other Chicago properties

HI - Chicago Hostel

24 East Congress Parkway, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.5km

Rating: 91% from 79 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This place is awsome... Not only plan to be there again as also to know as most HI as possible.
  • 100%
  • 18 Sep 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Outstanding hostel. Very nice location, walking distance to several major attractions. And they organize pretty good activities.
  • 91%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Anonymous China
  • don't think about it! just go there! the location is awesome. the people are awesome. the rooms and bathrooms are really clean and everybody is more than happy to help you. me and my friends had 2 amazing nights in chicago. btw, if u go there, DONT MISS the institute of art from Chicago. its AMAZING.
  • 100%
  • 15 Sep 2014 Anonymous Romania
  • This hostel is high above my expectation. It's clean and convenient. Free breakfast was good. It locates in downtown of Chicago. Walk distance to the millennium part, art institute of Chicago and Willis Tower, etc.
  • 100%
  • 14 Sep 2014 Anonymous China
  • Really liked this hostel. It feels new and modern and clean. Free breakfast was very good. Location was excellent.
  • 80%
  • 12 Sep 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • Location's perfect, so close to most of the downtown area attractions. Some staff are pretty helpful, some are not. Deluxe 8 female dorm is slightly a disappointment, 6 female dorm on the 3rd floor seems like a better choice.
  • 89%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Anonymous China
  • Excellent hostel right in the middle of the Loop. Superb location with very short walks to all trains. Very secure building (keycards on front door, elevators, and rooms). Excellent value for the money. I will stay here again.
  • 97%
  • 02 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very recommendable accommodation! Very safe. Housekeeping didn't clean every day, men's toilet was only cleaned thoroughly once, and we stayed there 5 days (Although we only had to share it with 8 double bed rooms). Breakfast was ok, not really tasteful and they didn't bother to refill bakery/jelly/yogurt from 9:30 am. Staff was very friendly, you can participate in many activities. Great, that they had discounts for various sightseeings.
  • 89%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Winfried Austria
  • This is a great hostel! It is located downtown and pretty much everything is more or less walking distance. I only took the L once and that was to the Lincoln Park Zoo. But even from there you are back downtown in about 20-30 minutes. The rooms were really spacious what I really didn't expect. Really nice to actually have some space for all the luggage and bags. Security aspect is really excellent since you need your room card to get in and only the people in your room have access to your it
  • 94%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Andreas Germany
  • I enjoyed my stay at the hostel. The price was just right and they are located near the Art Institute, which was a major bonus. The free breakfast was pretty basic, but it was free... I thought the bathrooms needed to be cleaned more often.
  • 74%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Cheryl USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »