See other Chicago properties

HI - Chicago Hostel

24 East Congress Parkway, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.5km

Rating: 89% from 55 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • the dorm is so clean and the employees are so nice
  • 89%
  • 20 Nov 2015 Anonymous China
  • I can't say enough good things about this hostel! The location was absolutely fantastic, and the staff were very friendly and informative. The facility was also well-kept and very clean. This hostel had everything you need (including free wifi, breakfast, linens, towels, etc)!
  • 100%
  • 18 Nov 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very impressed with cleanliness.
  • 97%
  • 11 Nov 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great Place to stay, I would stay again
  • 100%
  • 07 Nov 2015 Antonio Mexico
  • This was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. Surprisingly clean and the staff was nice.
  • 100%
  • 26 Oct 2015 Christopher USA
  • A really convenient stay for the Chicago Marathon. The staff and the building itself were really cool. The major drawback was the beds--they were creaky and had a crater in the center of them, and could really afford to be updated. Sheets and towels were included.
  • 89%
  • 10 Oct 2015 Elise USA
  • I was told I was booked in a female only room and woke up to a guy staying in our room too. It would have been fine if they had told me beforehand. Front desk was friendly and efficient. Nice hostel. Fantastic location.
  • 94%
  • 08 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • If you're just looking to stop into Chicago for some sight-seeing I highly suggest you stay at HI Chicago. The location was great and the dorms were super clean. I'll be staying here again the next time I drop in to Chicago for the weekend.
  • 91%
  • 17 Sep 2015 Wren Canada
  • Check in was fast, my room was very clean and comfortable, and check out was even faster. The bed was surprisingly comfy and the room was the perfect temperature. Best possible hostel experience. I'll be back again for sure
  • 100%
  • 10 Sep 2015 Anonymous
  • I had a great experience at this hostel. It was my first time sleeping at hostel and I can't speak to the negative. Everything was perfect even if I stayed in an 8-bed female dorm and don´t know anybody around! Staff is super friendly and always helpful! Rooms are nice and clean. So many choices for breakfast , awesome! I can highly recommend this hostel! Like it!
  • 97%
  • 04 Sep 2015 Nela Czech Republic
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »