See other Chicago properties

HI - Chicago Hostel

24 East Congress Parkway, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.5km

Rating: 90% from 76 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed in a 10bed female dorm, spacious, clean BUT way to few restrooms for that amount of people. Overall the atmosphere is not cosy, familial or the like, since it is a huge place and I feel that it is pricy for what you get. A decent place to stay at- Location is great and the best thing I would have to say about the place would probably be the BREAKFAST. Great selection, lots of yummy stuff.
  • 74%
  • 10 Sep 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Location's perfect, so close to most of the downtown area attractions. Some staff are pretty helpful, some are not. Deluxe 8 female dorm is slightly a disappointment, 6 female dorm on the 3rd floor seems like a better choice.
  • 89%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Anonymous China
  • Excellent hostel right in the middle of the Loop. Superb location with very short walks to all trains. Very secure building (keycards on front door, elevators, and rooms). Excellent value for the money. I will stay here again.
  • 97%
  • 02 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very recommendable accommodation! Very safe. Housekeeping didn't clean every day, men's toilet was only cleaned thoroughly once, and we stayed there 5 days (Although we only had to share it with 8 double bed rooms). Breakfast was ok, not really tasteful and they didn't bother to refill bakery/jelly/yogurt from 9:30 am. Staff was very friendly, you can participate in many activities. Great, that they had discounts for various sightseeings.
  • 89%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Winfried Austria
  • This is a great hostel! It is located downtown and pretty much everything is more or less walking distance. I only took the L once and that was to the Lincoln Park Zoo. But even from there you are back downtown in about 20-30 minutes. The rooms were really spacious what I really didn't expect. Really nice to actually have some space for all the luggage and bags. Security aspect is really excellent since you need your room card to get in and only the people in your room have access to your it
  • 94%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Andreas Germany
  • I enjoyed my stay at the hostel. The price was just right and they are located near the Art Institute, which was a major bonus. The free breakfast was pretty basic, but it was free... I thought the bathrooms needed to be cleaned more often.
  • 74%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Cheryl USA
  • Was there for 2 nights. Nice, clean and safe hostel. Walking distance from most attractions.
  • 94%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Jens Denmark
  • The hostel was convenient to my race location and all the downtown Chicago hot spots. Best part is that I didn't need to rent a car, I was in walking distance tp public transportation and Uber was a great help as well. The place was clean and I felt very safe there, I would definitely stay there again.
  • 100%
  • 18 Jul 2014 Jocelyn USA
  • I will stay there agan If I visit Chicago again. Various program, Cleaness, Safe.
  • 100%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Thanks a lot to hostel's team, it was a good time staying in Chicago!
  • 83%
  • 08 Jul 2014 Anonymous Latvia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »