See other Chicago properties

HI - Chicago Hostel

24 East Congress Parkway, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.5km

Rating: 89% from 81 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This is a great hostel! It is located downtown and pretty much everything is more or less walking distance. I only took the L once and that was to the Lincoln Park Zoo. But even from there you are back downtown in about 20-30 minutes. The rooms were really spacious what I really didn't expect. Really nice to actually have some space for all the luggage and bags. Security aspect is really excellent since you need your room card to get in and only the people in your room have access to your it
  • 94%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Andreas Germany
  • I enjoyed my stay at the hostel. The price was just right and they are located near the Art Institute, which was a major bonus. The free breakfast was pretty basic, but it was free... I thought the bathrooms needed to be cleaned more often.
  • 74%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Cheryl USA
  • Was there for 2 nights. Nice, clean and safe hostel. Walking distance from most attractions.
  • 94%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Jens Denmark
  • The hostel was convenient to my race location and all the downtown Chicago hot spots. Best part is that I didn't need to rent a car, I was in walking distance tp public transportation and Uber was a great help as well. The place was clean and I felt very safe there, I would definitely stay there again.
  • 100%
  • 18 Jul 2014 Jocelyn USA
  • I will stay there agan If I visit Chicago again. Various program, Cleaness, Safe.
  • 100%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Thanks a lot to hostel's team, it was a good time staying in Chicago!
  • 83%
  • 08 Jul 2014 Anonymous Latvia
  • Wonderful place to stay. You'll definitely meet the interesting people from all over the world. I came here for a short getaway on the Fourth of July. Met great individuals in the same dorm and random other in the common room and elevator. We all met up for the celebration, which was so thrilling. They have complimentary breakfast, which is a plus. There's a kitchen and dining rooms in each floor but be careful of people eating your food. Witnesses saw rampaging through bags of food.
  • 91%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great place!
  • 100%
  • 29 Jun 2014 Kerstin Sweden
  • Great location and nice staff. The beds could use some updating, as well as the showers.
  • 94%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Monica Andrea USA
  • Very clean and safe place to stay. Everyone was helpful and mostly cheerful.
  • 100%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Shannon USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No matter where you are there's always time for a great beer with great friends. Check out our guide to cheap but awesome beer all over the world

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »