See other Chicago properties

HI - Chicago Hostel

24 East Congress Parkway, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.5km

Rating: 89% from 55 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had an absolute pleasure staying at this hostel. The staff was helpful, and kind. Fantastic outings were available on a daily basis.
  • 100%
  • 27 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • I was in a 4 bed room / 8 bed suite which was good, compared to Getaway hostel. I found the person (a man) setting up breakfast "jumped" at me when I walked into the breakfast room, just looking to see when they are open, since I did not know what time it was at the time I walked in. I told me a greeting of "hello" would have been nice, without "jumping" at me literally and saying "we are not open till 7 am". It made a bad start to my day. Lizz who checked me in was excellent - professional
  • 80%
  • 18 May 2015 Lathika Sri Lanka
  • Very helpful friendly staff , great location , excellent value for money , really liked that housekeeping collected my linen after I checked out , only a small detail but one less thing to worry about
  • 100%
  • 13 May 2015 Ian Australia
  • Very nice stay!
  • 97%
  • 24 Apr 2015 Anonymous China
  • I had a great stay at the hostel and got to meet a lot of interesting people. The showers were kind of gross, but otherwise it was perfect.
  • 91%
  • 21 Apr 2015 Joshua USA
  • It's worth the money! Very good bedrooms, clean sheets and blankets, lots of plugs to charge devices. Good toilets with hair dryers and towels. One of the best locations in downtown Chocago! Strongly recommend!!
  • 94%
  • 04 Apr 2015 Blenda Brazil
  • why took my deposit money? staff said "u r in our membership?" i said "no" staff said "then u should pay more" ??? WTF ??? Only this experience is worst. anotherthing is good
  • 80%
  • 16 Feb 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • I had a great time at HI! I always felt safe and the staff was helpful and welcoming. Our twin private room was clean and spacious and the bathrooms were just the same. I hope to visit again some time in the future!
  • 97%
  • 23 Jan 2015 Katia USA
  • I'd love it if check-in time could be a factor for room assignments, and or provide a curfew option for some rooms. I would have stayed longer but the noise from rowdy neighbors and roommates who came, went, and used lights and phones at literally every hour throughout the night made it impossible to sleep.
  • 51%
  • 06 Jan 2015 Elizabeth USA
  • Wish you speak anpther languages cause you're an international organization
  • 89%
  • 27 Dec 2014 Ricardo Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »