See other Chicago properties

HI - Chicago Hostel

24 East Congress Parkway, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.5km

Rating: 91% from 73 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This place is clean, comfortable and right downtown. The staff were great, as well.
  • 100%
  • 17 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Nice staff, clean room and convenient location. Worth the money.
  • 80%
  • 09 Apr 2014 Anonymous China
  • Excellent location: it is located at center of the downtown, incredibly low cost, kind staffs. I can recommend this hostel!
  • 100%
  • 02 Apr 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • The volunteer at the info desk was the best!
  • 100%
  • 23 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel is the best hostel I have ever stayed in!! It can be easily a good reason for you to visit the Windy City... Love the events in the hostel and the continuous efforts of the staff in promoting international cultrue.
  • 97%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Anonymous China
  • Perfect place to stay :) I would choose hi hostel wherever I travel
  • 100%
  • 17 Mar 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • This is by far the best hostel that I have ever stayed at! Not only is it ony about $35 per night, it is centrally located where it is easy to get anywhere by bus or train. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the hostel itself is well maintained and clean.
  • 100%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great free breakfast!! Lot of choice. Helpful Infos everywhere in the hostel
  • 94%
  • 06 Mar 2014 Anonymous Switzerland
  • I wanted to renew my expired Hostels International membership (this is an HI hostel). The person I spoke with on arrival didn't think they could do that on the spot, and suggested I go on line instead. Next day, another staff person knew that they could, and helped me do so. It's a very minor nit - I love this hostel and its staff and look forward to visiting again.
  • 97%
  • 13 Feb 2014 Stuart USA
  • Amazing great!!!!!
  • 100%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »