See other Chicago properties

HI - Chicago Hostel

24 East Congress Parkway, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.5km

Rating: 92% from 70 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 91%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed in a spacious room with ensuite bathroom. We had enough space for our stuff and space to walk around. The location was too good to be true, close to everything and next to a very nice cafe where you can eat a decent and resonable meal. Around there are so many options of what to do do, what to eat and so on.
  • 89%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Thi Thanh Le Vietnam
  • have in the contract that if a worker is found stealing peoples things they are automaticly fired and if a guest is found stealing a persons thing they lose allthe money they have paid for a bed and will be asked to leave at once
  • 86%
  • 02 Nov 2013 Gerge USA
  • Good place to stay a night.
  • 83%
  • 26 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • They hostel is really well located, close to to the train statios that will take you anywere. The staff was really nice and efficient and the breakfast was really good! Also good showers and huge rooms!
  • 86%
  • 26 Oct 2013 Julia Argentina
  • One really reliable hostel. My experience was very good at the H.I Chicago. Excellent location, really comfortable bedroom, good staff and all in general exceeded my expectations. If I come back to Chicago, or if I go to some city that have the H.I, this will certainly be my choice.
  • 91%
  • 20 Oct 2013 Bárbara Brazil
  • The heater is not warm enough.
  • 83%
  • 14 Oct 2013 Sarah Taiwan
  • This was my first time staying in a hostel. The staff was friendly and helpful (Ahmed in the kitchen greeted us every morning!) and our dorm-mates were the best. THE place to stay in Chicago if you want to dive right into the city! We were there for three nights for the Chicago marathon--the hostel provided a free pasta dinner on marathon-eve and an extra early (5AM) breakfast for runners who needed to get to the starting line (which was only about 1/4 mile away)!
  • 97%
  • 11 Oct 2013 Caroline USA
  • I went to this hostel for the Chicago Marathon weekend- they paid special attention to runners by hosting a pasta supper, a very early breakfast on race day, and cute touches all around, like personalized water bottles. I loved my stay here, location is great, rooms are clean, and there
  • 100%
  • 11 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Excellent location for Chicago marathon and staff went out of their way for the marathon Inc. pasta dinner and having breakfast at 5am for he runners and even had bananas now that was thinking ! Activities co-ordinator was excellent and enjoyed the German night on Thur. 10th Oct. All in all a 10 out of 10experience for me and I am 69 years old
  • 97%
  • 10 Oct 2013 Ellis Canada
  • Great value - quiet quarters - even when there are 9 other people in the room, there seems to be plenty of space - free breakfast - very accommodating staff (they let me check-in 6 hours early when my travel plans got extended at the last minute - I didn't even have to explain anything beforehand) - located downtown and right next to the L train, so accessible from anywhere.
  • 100%
  • 08 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »