See other Chicago properties

HI - Chicago Hostel

24 East Congress Parkway, Chicago, Chicago, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.5km

Rating: 91% from 76 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The volunteer at the info desk was the best!
  • 100%
  • 23 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel is the best hostel I have ever stayed in!! It can be easily a good reason for you to visit the Windy City... Love the events in the hostel and the continuous efforts of the staff in promoting international cultrue.
  • 97%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Anonymous China
  • Perfect place to stay :) I would choose hi hostel wherever I travel
  • 100%
  • 17 Mar 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • This is by far the best hostel that I have ever stayed at! Not only is it ony about $35 per night, it is centrally located where it is easy to get anywhere by bus or train. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the hostel itself is well maintained and clean.
  • 100%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great free breakfast!! Lot of choice. Helpful Infos everywhere in the hostel
  • 94%
  • 06 Mar 2014 Anonymous Switzerland
  • I wanted to renew my expired Hostels International membership (this is an HI hostel). The person I spoke with on arrival didn't think they could do that on the spot, and suggested I go on line instead. Next day, another staff person knew that they could, and helped me do so. It's a very minor nit - I love this hostel and its staff and look forward to visiting again.
  • 97%
  • 13 Feb 2014 Stuart USA
  • Amazing great!!!!!
  • 100%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Anonymous China
  • Overall is nice. I wish there were more choices for food inside the hostel.
  • 80%
  • 29 Dec 2013 Ka Ching Hong Kong
  • Very clean facilities. Staff was friendly and work so quickly. The room was also clean, but it was close to Metro railroad, so it was very noisy when trains passed about until 1am. Bathroom was good, but you should keep your belongings away from floor because water goes outside of shower room and they get wet. You can use a baggage room after check-out. It was secured because only permitted people can enter there.
  • 91%
  • 25 Dec 2013 Anonymous Japan
  • The location is unbeatable. You can save money and time on traffic, because many tourist spots are within walking distance. The atmosphere are great. A lot of nice events anyone staying here should join as much as possible. Overall it is the place I'd recommend to everyone travel on budget and want to meet new people!
  • 94%
  • 25 Nov 2013 Anonymous Taiwan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »