See other Honolulu properties

HI - Honolulu - Waikiki Hostel

Hostelling International Waikiki, 2417 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, Honolulu, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.9km

Rating: 85% from 19 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very nice place! Very friendly staff. No a/c.
  • 94%
  • 30 Sep 2015 FABIANO Brazil
  • The hostel staff were all very nice and accommodating; I didn't run into anybody (staff or guests) that were unpleasant. Bathrooms are clean, had hot water. They offer free-to-use beach gear as well! Note of caution: there is no air conditioning, just fans! Nothing against the hostel, obviously. I knew this when I booked. Thankfully I come from a similar climate so all was well, but some people may not find it bearable.
  • 89%
  • 14 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I have stayed 4 nights and was very happy, i refused to pay the way overpriced hotels nearby. Staff was very friendly and helpful the place is very clean and very secure. The private room is very basic but has everythig you need, small bathroom, hangers, a chair, hooks and not to forget the most important: a fan! Will definitly stay there again!
  • 100%
  • 03 Jul 2015 Gaelle Canada
  • My friend and I stayed in a private room with bunk beds, it worked great for us. It would have been nice to have a little table in the room, there were 2 chairs tho. We like to read and it would have been nice to be able to sit at a table to do it and to set things on. We were really glad there was a fan in the room as it was very hot, overall a great experience.
  • 89%
  • 15 May 2015 Diana USA
  • Best Location in Waikiki! Best Value for your buck!
  • 91%
  • 31 Mar 2015 Benjamin Germany
  • Facilities and rooms could use an update. WiFi not working.
  • 49%
  • 18 Mar 2015 Camilla Norway
  • Be aware lock your stuff, I got my shoes stolen (nice heels) Cant trust anyone. In addition they do there bed selection by pen and paper, most hotels have a software computer for that. This place was ok.
  • 71%
  • 12 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The lack of actual doors in front of the rooms is incredibly frustrating on noisy and cold nights, as well as make it hard to block out the light when in bottom bunks. They only have mesh screen-doors and louvres which make the rooms very cold at night during the winter months. Staff are very friendly, lots of space, nice and quiet hostel with a friendly atmosphere.
  • 77%
  • 23 Feb 2015 Anja Norway
  • This was my third year visiting and the extra attention to small details is very noticeable. I look forward to another visit next year! Thank you!!
  • 94%
  • 19 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Matress sucks (you can't have a good sleep on it), lack of wifi in the rooms, staff uses shared toilet/kitchen. Gonzalo was more than helpful!
  • 66%
  • 18 Feb 2015 Magdalena Czech Republic
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »