See other Honolulu properties

HI - Honolulu - Waikiki Hostel

Hostelling International Waikiki, 2417 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, Honolulu, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.9km

Rating: 82% from 25 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This was my third year visiting and the extra attention to small details is very noticeable. I look forward to another visit next year! Thank you!!
  • 94%
  • 19 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Matress sucks (you can't have a good sleep on it), lack of wifi in the rooms, staff uses shared toilet/kitchen. Gonzalo was more than helpful!
  • 66%
  • 18 Feb 2015 Magdalena Czech Republic
  • Staff are incredible, friendly, & respectful. I believe hostels are more attractive to a younger generation. At 60+, the young people were uncomfortable with my presence but they were respectful. I was impressed, they went to bed when I did @ 11:00. If I were to stay @ a hostel again, I would choose this one but private & with only women.
  • 86%
  • 10 Feb 2015 Edith Canada
  • We had a private double bunk room. Loved this place! So close to the beach! Wish we would have stayed longer.
  • 100%
  • 08 Feb 2015 Ellen USA
  • We stayed just one night at HI Waikiki, because we were flying out the next morning. We could not have been more satisfied. We had a private room with ensuite for $58 (we are HI members) and there is no doubt that everything around us cost at least double that and much much more! We did not have a chance to see the dorm rooms, but our room was spotlessly clean, spacious and had everything we needed, and the bed was comfy. Most of all, the man at reception was super kind and helpful.
  • 100%
  • 01 Feb 2015 Veronica and John Canada
  • I spend a week at the Hi - Honolulu - Waikiki Hostel and I had a great time. It was my first time staying at a hostel without knowing anyone before I got there and I would definitely do it again. The staff was kind and very helpful, and the guests were friendly and openminded. If I come back to Honolulu at some point I will absolutely stay at this hostel again, and hope that many of the staff members are still there when I come back! Thank you for the great experience! :-)
  • 89%
  • 19 Dec 2014 Bettina Buurgaard Denmark
  • It's a basic hostel on the outside but a family on the inside! The common area is very basic and almost worth not dwelling in. BUT free checkouts of snorkel and boogie board equipment, single bathroom per room (instead of one in hallway for everybody), and walking distance (2.5 blocks) to tourist hot waikiki beach and shops/hotels makes this a location must for the budget traveller! plus the staff is super friendly and accommodating. there's also 2 parking spots for those that did the rental car
  • 80%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Ari USA
  • The staff saved our poor stay at this hostel because we didn't know BEFORE we booked that the kitchen and the livingroom is closed.
  • 57%
  • 10 Nov 2014 Sophie Marie Germany
  • Awesome hostel, good location and great facilities! Free snorkelling stuff, very helpful staff and right next to the beach. No alcohol unless you're sneaky, wifi works well and felt very secure.
  • 94%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Anonymous England
  • Close to the Waikiki beach and shopping malls. They don't have air conditioner but cool enough during the night time.
  • 69%
  • 18 Sep 2014 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

15 fantastic Irish bars you can party in on St. Patrick's Day

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »