See other Honolulu properties

HI - Honolulu - Waikiki Hostel

Hostelling International Waikiki, 2417 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, Honolulu, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.9km

Rating: 81% from 29 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My friend and I stayed in a private room with bunk beds, it worked great for us. It would have been nice to have a little table in the room, there were 2 chairs tho. We like to read and it would have been nice to be able to sit at a table to do it and to set things on. We were really glad there was a fan in the room as it was very hot, overall a great experience.
  • 89%
  • 15 May 2015 Diana USA
  • Facilities and rooms could use an update. WiFi not working.
  • 49%
  • 18 Mar 2015 Camilla Norway
  • Be aware lock your stuff, I got my shoes stolen (nice heels) Cant trust anyone. In addition they do there bed selection by pen and paper, most hotels have a software computer for that. This place was ok.
  • 71%
  • 12 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The lack of actual doors in front of the rooms is incredibly frustrating on noisy and cold nights, as well as make it hard to block out the light when in bottom bunks. They only have mesh screen-doors and louvres which make the rooms very cold at night during the winter months. Staff are very friendly, lots of space, nice and quiet hostel with a friendly atmosphere.
  • 77%
  • 23 Feb 2015 Anja Norway
  • This was my third year visiting and the extra attention to small details is very noticeable. I look forward to another visit next year! Thank you!!
  • 94%
  • 19 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Matress sucks (you can't have a good sleep on it), lack of wifi in the rooms, staff uses shared toilet/kitchen. Gonzalo was more than helpful!
  • 66%
  • 18 Feb 2015 Magdalena Czech Republic
  • Staff are incredible, friendly, & respectful. I believe hostels are more attractive to a younger generation. At 60+, the young people were uncomfortable with my presence but they were respectful. I was impressed, they went to bed when I did @ 11:00. If I were to stay @ a hostel again, I would choose this one but private & with only women.
  • 86%
  • 10 Feb 2015 Edith Canada
  • We had a private double bunk room. Loved this place! So close to the beach! Wish we would have stayed longer.
  • 100%
  • 08 Feb 2015 Ellen USA
  • We stayed just one night at HI Waikiki, because we were flying out the next morning. We could not have been more satisfied. We had a private room with ensuite for $58 (we are HI members) and there is no doubt that everything around us cost at least double that and much much more! We did not have a chance to see the dorm rooms, but our room was spotlessly clean, spacious and had everything we needed, and the bed was comfy. Most of all, the man at reception was super kind and helpful.
  • 100%
  • 01 Feb 2015 Veronica and John Canada
  • I spend a week at the Hi - Honolulu - Waikiki Hostel and I had a great time. It was my first time staying at a hostel without knowing anyone before I got there and I would definitely do it again. The staff was kind and very helpful, and the guests were friendly and openminded. If I come back to Honolulu at some point I will absolutely stay at this hostel again, and hope that many of the staff members are still there when I come back! Thank you for the great experience! :-)
  • 89%
  • 19 Dec 2014 Bettina Buurgaard Denmark
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »