See other Honolulu properties

HI - Honolulu - Waikiki Hostel

Hostelling International Waikiki, 2417 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, Honolulu, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.9km

Rating: 78% from 18 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It's a basic hostel on the outside but a family on the inside! The common area is very basic and almost worth not dwelling in. BUT free checkouts of snorkel and boogie board equipment, single bathroom per room (instead of one in hallway for everybody), and walking distance (2.5 blocks) to tourist hot waikiki beach and shops/hotels makes this a location must for the budget traveller! plus the staff is super friendly and accommodating. there's also 2 parking spots for those that did the rental car
  • 80%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Ari USA
  • The staff saved our poor stay at this hostel because we didn't know BEFORE we booked that the kitchen and the livingroom is closed.
  • 57%
  • 10 Nov 2014 Sophie Marie Germany
  • Awesome hostel, good location and great facilities! Free snorkelling stuff, very helpful staff and right next to the beach. No alcohol unless you're sneaky, wifi works well and felt very secure.
  • 94%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Anonymous England
  • Close to the Waikiki beach and shopping malls. They don't have air conditioner but cool enough during the night time.
  • 69%
  • 18 Sep 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • The staff was friendly & helpful, the location was amazing & the value for the money was off the charts! This was my first stay at hostel & I will do it again!
  • 94%
  • 14 Aug 2014 marion USA
  • Hostel was in a great location and most of the staff were really lovely (one had a bit of a chip on his shoulder and was a bit rude to anyone male). Room was OK, liked the fact there was a notice board up to notify everyone of free events for the day. However we wouldn't stay there again as it was just too noisy. Not noise from other guests but from the number of trucks that go up and down the road. Every morning we were woken up by trash collection, mostly before 7am!
  • 80%
  • 30 Jul 2014 Abbie England
  • Rocko is awesome! He's a great staff member.
  • 94%
  • 20 Jul 2014 Michael USA
  • Very Comfortable Beds with more space in the Rooms than any others I've ever stayed. Had everything one would need in the Kitchen with the exception of a Working Toaster, Highly Recommend staying here and Avoid the Ghetto's on Lemon Street.
  • 97%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Nice staff and a lot of information about activities as skydiving and scuba diving etc. Very hot, but there is a fan in the rooms. 2 minutes walk from Waikiki beach and grocery store. No alcohol allowed.
  • 83%
  • 05 May 2014 Signe Kristine Denmark
  • This hostel has a really good location. Just 100m from Waikiki beach. In overrall this is a good hostel, however there is no Wi-Fi in the rooms, which is bad since the kitchen and lounge closes at 11pm. The staff is friendly but when i asked for directions they didn't know much, also when I requested a map they provided me an activity list. This is a good and clean hostel. Had a good time there.
  • 83%
  • 12 Mar 2014 Anonymous Portugal
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »