See other Honolulu properties

HI Honolulu - Waikiki

Hostelling International Waikiki, 2417 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, Honolulu, USA, Distance from city centre: 4.9km

Rating: 87% from 11 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Paul was the best host!!! Cleaner kitchen than my home. Nothing was left to lie around. Staff was constantly cleaning, moving about the property.
  • 100%
  • 07 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent location, very clean and well run. Parking available also a very good rates. Very impressed with my stay.
  • 86%
  • 12 Feb 2016 Nicholas Ireland
  • Loved that the hostel provides beach towels, snorkeling gear, etc. at no cost. Didn't like that we had to pay for a bag storage after check-out. I think it should be opposite - makes more sense to charge a little fee (or a deposit) for towels, chairs, etc. and not charge for the bag storage as the bag storage is just a room, while towels and other gear cost money and need to be washed/cleaned regularly. We traveled the world for 6 mo and this is the only hostel we had to pay for the bag storage.
  • 89%
  • 15 Jan 2016 Anonymous Russia
  • I was very much appreciated the manager Paul for his kindness , great service and his hard working to make sure the guests comfortablenes. And his staffs as well . Because of the excellent location , I was easily able to go out an back everyday . Great place brings awesome guests so I made lots of friends and enjoyed so much . Mahalo !!
  • 100%
  • 11 Dec 2015 Miyuki Japan
  • Very nice place! Very friendly staff. No a/c.
  • 94%
  • 30 Sep 2015 FABIANO Brazil
  • The hostel staff were all very nice and accommodating; I didn't run into anybody (staff or guests) that were unpleasant. Bathrooms are clean, had hot water. They offer free-to-use beach gear as well! Note of caution: there is no air conditioning, just fans! Nothing against the hostel, obviously. I knew this when I booked. Thankfully I come from a similar climate so all was well, but some people may not find it bearable.
  • 89%
  • 14 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I have stayed 4 nights and was very happy, i refused to pay the way overpriced hotels nearby. Staff was very friendly and helpful the place is very clean and very secure. The private room is very basic but has everythig you need, small bathroom, hangers, a chair, hooks and not to forget the most important: a fan! Will definitly stay there again!
  • 100%
  • 03 Jul 2015 Gaelle Canada
  • My friend and I stayed in a private room with bunk beds, it worked great for us. It would have been nice to have a little table in the room, there were 2 chairs tho. We like to read and it would have been nice to be able to sit at a table to do it and to set things on. We were really glad there was a fan in the room as it was very hot, overall a great experience.
  • 89%
  • 15 May 2015 Diana USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »