See other Santa Monica properties

HI - Los Angeles - Santa Monica Hostel

1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Santa Monica, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 85% from 37 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good Hostel close to the beach and the shopping street. Nice and helpfull staff and good atmosphere.
  • 89%
  • 28 Sep 2014 Anonymous Iceland
  • In between hotel and hostel. Don't go here if you want to party with other travellers.
  • 77%
  • 11 Aug 2014 Anonymous Netherlands
  • What I liked about this hostel are the arranged activities every day, which gives you a great chance to meet and make new friends
  • 91%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Sergio Netherlands
  • No air conditioning! In Limo Party! whenever I Reserved and paid To a Guy from hostel (Michael) who insure me all ok, when Limo arrived To pick up people with The Person organising it (Named All), this told me & 2 others to wait and when most were inside (my Friends too), this told me it was full and left me on sidewalk giving my Money back and closing door ! That night, I was invited in 2 other good parties which I did Not go to go to the Hostel party ! Looks like he was selecting the people!
  • 46%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Joao Portugal
  • Wonderful
  • 100%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This is a great hostel to stay. It's safe, close to the beach and close to shops restaurants and bars. The only thing I can fault them on is there was no air con in my room on the 4th floor and the fan didn't rotate so it was really too warm to sleep well at night. The kitchen was great and enjoyed the free brekky. Would definitely stay here next time
  • 100%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Julie Australia
  • Never stayed in such a clean, well maintained hostel! The rooms were spacious, we had our own large lockers, and the bathrooms had everything we needed (lots of hairdryers!). The only thing lacking about the hostel was the atmosphere. The staff were friendly and very helpful.
  • 94%
  • 14 May 2014 Zoe England
  • Great hostel, it almost felt like a hotel. Very secure and impeccably clean. Great location in Santa Monica, right by the shopping district, by a lot of bus routes and just a few minutes walk to the beach. The only issues I found were the room keys didn't work very well- it would only open the door after many attempted swipes and twice I had to get my key card reactivated. And the beds aren't very comfortable (but hey, it's a hostel). Friendly staff. Breakfast is pretty basic. I'd recommend it!
  • 89%
  • 27 Mar 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Breakfast is light (there's yogurt, cornflakes, toast, coffee, tea, juice) so if you want a heartier breakfast, you might want to buy some groceries and use their excellent kitchen area to cooking something to supplement their breakfast. Rooms were a tad warm in March - might have been that awkward time in the Spring where it doesn't make sense to use air conditioner yet. Otherwise a wonderful place for a decent price and an unbeatable location. Good access to public transit.
  • 91%
  • 26 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • U get what u pay for, so it's okey.
  • 69%
  • 25 Feb 2014 Malin Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »