See other Los Angeles properties

HI - Los Angeles - Santa Monica Hostel

1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 23.7km

Rating: 87% from 31 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Just stayed there for one night. The beach is super close. Wifi worked perfectly even in the dorms. Showers and toilets were clean. Breakfeast was not spectacular but ok.
  • 77%
  • 31 Aug 2015 Junia Germany
  • The wifi wasnt strong enough to use which was disappointing. Loved the hostel otherwise
  • 100%
  • 08 Aug 2015 cynthia USA
  • The water pressure in the showers needs to be addressed and there is no temperature gauge which is ridiculous. Somebody stole my friends food and she requires gluten free food. We thought this was really rude. The location and security were pretty good. Some of the staff could have been a bit friendlier and it was annoying that the quiet time was from 10pm, considering it's a hostel people are usually out and about.
  • 74%
  • 02 Jul 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Really liked this hostel. Everyone was very friendly and they did a lot of cool events, I didn't participate in them but I heard good things. Only problem was just not realizing how spread out LA is and how far it is to get to Hollywood and Downtown. This is a great spot in Santa Monica though. Really close to the beach, Santa Monica pier, and not too far from Venice Beach. Would definitely stay here again but would probably have split my trip here and done half here and half in Hollywood.
  • 97%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent location. Excellent staff. Good breakfast. Yes. I recommend to all of you looking for an affordable placecto stay in one of the best places of the United States.
  • 91%
  • 22 May 2015 leonardo Brazil
  • Great Place, 5 minutes walk away from the beach. Close to shops and amenities. Breakfast provided including Cereal, Fruit, Yoghurt, Bagels, Toast OJ Tea/Coffee
  • 97%
  • 04 May 2015 Anonymous England
  • This was the most expensive hostel I stayed in - comfortable beds that you don't have to strip before you leave, very secure, great location - right next to the beach, parking garage across the street was affordable. I heard the breakfast was awesome but I thought it was pretty typical for a hostel - not bad, just not extraordinary.
  • 80%
  • 29 Mar 2015 Ruth USA
  • The temperature of the showers couldnt be regulated so the were so hot that you almost couldnt use them. Everthing else was awesome.
  • 91%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Dominik Germany
  • Great stay, guys. Thank you so much. Wonderul time. Just a thing... The limo tour had some issues... I suppose it is already of your knowledge, but people have been left behind and their conduct was questionable. It is an awesome idea, pretty good initiative, but I'd say it is better to try another company/host. That is it.
  • 91%
  • 02 Mar 2015 Leonardo Brazil
  • Amazing stay, great atmosphere and really friendly staff. Only wished breakfast had some more variety from one day to the next
  • 94%
  • 19 Feb 2015 Kyle South Africa
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »