See other Los Angeles properties

HI - Los Angeles - Santa Monica Hostel

1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 23.7km

Rating: 86% from 31 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel was fine, great location and super clean and safe. But for the price your paying, decent wifi and hot running showers are kind of expected. And the free breakfasts average.
  • 83%
  • 19 Nov 2015 Emma Australia
  • Great place
  • 91%
  • 26 Sep 2015 Stephan Germany
  • a very good hostel BUT with no air conditioning in the rooms, and it is in southern california. VERY HOT at night, some people preferred to sleep in the communal areas, where a/c was on.
  • 77%
  • 10 Sep 2015 Anonymous Italy
  • The hostel was not particularly clean, the rooms were stifling hot and the other guests were not really respectful of other people sleeping.
  • 77%
  • 06 Sep 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Just stayed there for one night. The beach is super close. Wifi worked perfectly even in the dorms. Showers and toilets were clean. Breakfeast was not spectacular but ok.
  • 77%
  • 31 Aug 2015 Junia Germany
  • Too expensive for having to share the room with 7 girls and share the toilet with even more people of the floor. There is no bar at the hostel and is not allowed to drink beer or other alcoholic beverages in the hostel. That is just nonsense for me. Breakfast is poor, with no varieties. Staff are nice, helpfull and polite. Location is very good.
  • 63%
  • 30 Aug 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • The wifi wasnt strong enough to use which was disappointing. Loved the hostel otherwise
  • 100%
  • 08 Aug 2015 cynthia USA
  • The water pressure in the showers needs to be addressed and there is no temperature gauge which is ridiculous. Somebody stole my friends food and she requires gluten free food. We thought this was really rude. The location and security were pretty good. Some of the staff could have been a bit friendlier and it was annoying that the quiet time was from 10pm, considering it's a hostel people are usually out and about.
  • 74%
  • 02 Jul 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Really liked this hostel. Everyone was very friendly and they did a lot of cool events, I didn't participate in them but I heard good things. Only problem was just not realizing how spread out LA is and how far it is to get to Hollywood and Downtown. This is a great spot in Santa Monica though. Really close to the beach, Santa Monica pier, and not too far from Venice Beach. Would definitely stay here again but would probably have split my trip here and done half here and half in Hollywood.
  • 97%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent location. Excellent staff. Good breakfast. Yes. I recommend to all of you looking for an affordable placecto stay in one of the best places of the United States.
  • 91%
  • 22 May 2015 leonardo Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »