See other Los Angeles properties

HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica

1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 23.7km

Rating: 83% from 36 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Didn't realize that there was an additional charge for staying there which was not announced on the site. Thought this was poor etiquette. The place had some great common areas. Place was kept pretty clean and free internet.
  • 80%
  • 21 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Room full of stinking travelers who seem to know nothing about personal hygiene. The odor in the room was strong enough to cut with a knife. The ensuite WC was not functioning had to resort to the communal rest room in the corridor. The free breakfast contained as much sugar as a can of soda and the other guests were about as friendly as inmates in a Siberian gulag. I might have forgiven all of it had I managed to get some sleep while staying in the hostel.
  • 43%
  • 14 Jan 2016 Anthony USA
  • It was a wonderful experience. The Hostel is beautiful and the staff is friendly.
  • 100%
  • 01 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • One of the cleanest hostel I have ever been.
  • 100%
  • 26 Dec 2015 Anonymous Japan
  • The staff was very friendly, helpful, and respectful.
  • 91%
  • 12 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Generally a good hostel. Good location. atmosphere is a bit dull. 3.5/5
  • 71%
  • 19 Nov 2015 James Australia
  • The hostel was fine, great location and super clean and safe. But for the price your paying, decent wifi and hot running showers are kind of expected. And the free breakfasts average.
  • 83%
  • 19 Nov 2015 Emma Australia
  • This hostel is under renovation. They should have reduce the price accordingly. Also the breakfast is too late if you got an active day. (7:30am). The staff is so perfect, they are friendly, and they gave me a lot of useful informations.
  • 71%
  • 18 Nov 2015 DAMIEN France
  • Great place
  • 91%
  • 26 Sep 2015 Stephan Germany
  • a very good hostel BUT with no air conditioning in the rooms, and it is in southern california. VERY HOT at night, some people preferred to sleep in the communal areas, where a/c was on.
  • 77%
  • 10 Sep 2015 Anonymous Italy
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »