See other Los Angeles properties

HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica

1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 23.7km

Rating: 82% from 17 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Beautiful hostel great location great to stay during the holidays
    Owner Comment

    Hey there, thanks for your review! We are glad you enjoyed our hostel and all the amenities we have to offer! Come visit us again anytime :)

  • 91%
  • 25 Dec 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Location is perfect, it's really safe
    Owner Comment

    Hi there, and thanks so much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us here in Santa Monica!

  • 74%
  • 15 Dec 2016 Takhmina Russia
  • I will visit again
    Owner Comment

    Hey there! We are so glad that you loved staying with us! It was so great to meet you and we really enjoyed having you here! We really hope to see you again in the future! Safe travels!

  • 100%
  • 03 Dec 2016 Piyaphon Thailand
  • Location. location, location. It is within walking distance of the pier and the beach. They are many options for food and beverages all around the place. It is also a short walk away from transit into LA
    Owner Comment

    Thanks so much for your review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our hostel and Santa Monica in general! We hope to see you again soon!

  • 100%
  • 27 Sep 2016 Anonymous USA
  • One day, everything I'd left in the room was stolen. it was hard to get help, no one called me back, no one told the others in the room, there was an unknown man sleeping in the room, there was a clogged toilet and shower, I only got towels for 1/2 the days I stayed, and the cheaper parking I'd called earlier about was no longer available. The location is great! The parking across the street is convenient even if expensive. At times the BR was yukky because of how people were using it.
    Owner Comment

    Hi there Ma'am. We apologize for the incident that you experienced. We do provide all of our guests with lockers for this specific purpose, and we almost never have thefts of this sort. We filed an incident report for you, but as we do not have cameras in the room and as you admitted that your things were not locked away but were rather left on the bed in the open, there was not much else that we could have done. Also, it is worth noting that we did call you back on the phone number that you provided but were unable to leave messages due to the voicemail box being full. Unfortunately, the sweatpants, t-shirt, and toiletries that you reported stolen were not recovered or turned in to the lost and found. Additionally, the gentleman sleeping in the room was accidentally check-ed in to your room by one of our staff in training, and we apologized and removed him as soon as we discovered our mistake. We do apologize for that again, but rest assured, he was not an unknown man, but rather a registered guest. Finally, we replace towels upon request only, so we do not replace them automatically in an effort to encourage our guests to reuse them and to help us conserve water and be more environmentally friendly. Thank you again for your feedback, and we wish you all the best in your future travels.

  • 63%
  • 07 Jul 2016 Judy USA
  • immaculate building, very clean. felt very safe. staff were so helpful. great place to stay.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks so much for your kind review, we are so glad that you enjoyed spending time with us here at HI-Santa Monica! We would love to see you again sometime, so feel free to stop by the next time you are in LA!

  • 97%
  • 14 Jun 2016 Heather Canada
  • location and atmosphere are both great. For improvement, it will be the 1. more breadmakers outside 2. Microwave 3. One more blanket
    Owner Comment

    Hi there, thanks for your feedback! We're so glad you liked the hostel! We actually have several microwaves in the kitchen area, perhaps you missed them! Also, for future reference, we have extra blankets above the lockers in all of the dorms :)

  • 100%
  • 20 May 2016 Anonymous China
  • The best selling point is only the location, which is very close to Santa Monica beach. Anything else was not that great. Their dormitory-style bathroom was pretty dirty (I often found hair on the sink), but the worst part was that I had to skip a shower because the water was so unendurably hot it almost burned my skin. Their breakfast was ok. However, there weren't a lot going on at night, since most people came with their groups, not the best place for solo travelers. Uncomfortable bed.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your feedback, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay more. We will take your comments into consideration. In the future, as we have daily events, you might find the twice weekly pub crawls or Venice Beach Tours to be a fun way to meet people! As someone who usually travels solo, those are my favorites :)

  • 57%
  • 04 May 2016 Anonymous Thailand
  • The HI Santa Monica is nice and clean. They provide a TV-Room, reading room and a pool table which is all nice and good, but still it feels like atmosphere is not very good. Only bad thing: Breakfast. Every slice of toast is packed on it's own. So is every ounce of cornflakes, every little bottle of OJ or milk. Very wasteful and I can't imagine it's cheaper than providing big bags. They do have enough people to provide a proper breakfast, I don't know why they don't :(
  • 69%
  • 24 Apr 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • Great location just 5 minutes from the beach and very cozy courtyard
  • 89%
  • 21 Mar 2016 Pernille Vad Denmark
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »