See other Los Angeles properties

HI - Los Angeles - Santa Monica

1436 2nd Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 23.7km

Rating: 87% from 31 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Wonderful
  • 100%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This is a great hostel to stay. It's safe, close to the beach and close to shops restaurants and bars. The only thing I can fault them on is there was no air con in my room on the 4th floor and the fan didn't rotate so it was really too warm to sleep well at night. The kitchen was great and enjoyed the free brekky. Would definitely stay here next time
  • 100%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Julie Australia
  • Never stayed in such a clean, well maintained hostel! The rooms were spacious, we had our own large lockers, and the bathrooms had everything we needed (lots of hairdryers!). The only thing lacking about the hostel was the atmosphere. The staff were friendly and very helpful.
  • 94%
  • 14 May 2014 Zoe England
  • Great hostel, it almost felt like a hotel. Very secure and impeccably clean. Great location in Santa Monica, right by the shopping district, by a lot of bus routes and just a few minutes walk to the beach. The only issues I found were the room keys didn't work very well- it would only open the door after many attempted swipes and twice I had to get my key card reactivated. And the beds aren't very comfortable (but hey, it's a hostel). Friendly staff. Breakfast is pretty basic. I'd recommend it!
  • 89%
  • 27 Mar 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Breakfast is light (there's yogurt, cornflakes, toast, coffee, tea, juice) so if you want a heartier breakfast, you might want to buy some groceries and use their excellent kitchen area to cooking something to supplement their breakfast. Rooms were a tad warm in March - might have been that awkward time in the Spring where it doesn't make sense to use air conditioner yet. Otherwise a wonderful place for a decent price and an unbeatable location. Good access to public transit.
  • 91%
  • 26 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • U get what u pay for, so it's okey.
  • 69%
  • 25 Feb 2014 Malin Sweden
  • Had to share room with homeless man. Weird odour in the lobby.
  • 63%
  • 29 Nov 2013 Mohammad Canada
  • The staff at this hostel were friendly, happy people!
  • 100%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel was amazing the location couldn't be better. The staff was great I locked myself out in the middle of the night and was able to get a new key issued to me at the front desk. The showers were cold but we were told the trick is to be really early or a little later. It was clean quiet and overall a great experience.
  • 100%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Nancy Canada
  • The hostel has been revamped since the last time I came. I was so impressed! It had a great welcoming feel and I love the added touches to the room. Will recommend.
  • 89%
  • 09 Oct 2013 Noraziah Australian
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »