See other Los Angeles properties

HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica

1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 23.7km

Rating: 82% from 30 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • One day, everything I'd left in the room was stolen. it was hard to get help, no one called me back, no one told the others in the room, there was an unknown man sleeping in the room, there was a clogged toilet and shower, I only got towels for 1/2 the days I stayed, and the cheaper parking I'd called earlier about was no longer available. The location is great! The parking across the street is convenient even if expensive. At times the BR was yukky because of how people were using it.
  • 63%
  • 07 Jul 2016 Judy USA
  • immaculate building, very clean. felt very safe. staff were so helpful. great place to stay.
  • 97%
  • 14 Jun 2016 Heather Canada
  • location and atmosphere are both great. For improvement, it will be the 1. more breadmakers outside 2. Microwave 3. One more blanket
  • 100%
  • 20 May 2016 Anonymous China
  • The best selling point is only the location, which is very close to Santa Monica beach. Anything else was not that great. Their dormitory-style bathroom was pretty dirty (I often found hair on the sink), but the worst part was that I had to skip a shower because the water was so unendurably hot it almost burned my skin. Their breakfast was ok. However, there weren't a lot going on at night, since most people came with their groups, not the best place for solo travelers. Uncomfortable bed.
  • 57%
  • 04 May 2016 Anonymous Thailand
  • The HI Santa Monica is nice and clean. They provide a TV-Room, reading room and a pool table which is all nice and good, but still it feels like atmosphere is not very good. Only bad thing: Breakfast. Every slice of toast is packed on it's own. So is every ounce of cornflakes, every little bottle of OJ or milk. Very wasteful and I can't imagine it's cheaper than providing big bags. They do have enough people to provide a proper breakfast, I don't know why they don't :(
  • 69%
  • 24 Apr 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • Great location just 5 minutes from the beach and very cozy courtyard
  • 89%
  • 21 Mar 2016 Pernille Vad Denmark
  • Didn't realize that there was an additional charge for staying there which was not announced on the site. Thought this was poor etiquette. The place had some great common areas. Place was kept pretty clean and free internet.
  • 80%
  • 21 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Room full of stinking travelers who seem to know nothing about personal hygiene. The odor in the room was strong enough to cut with a knife. The ensuite WC was not functioning had to resort to the communal rest room in the corridor. The free breakfast contained as much sugar as a can of soda and the other guests were about as friendly as inmates in a Siberian gulag. I might have forgiven all of it had I managed to get some sleep while staying in the hostel.
  • 43%
  • 14 Jan 2016 Anthony USA
  • It was a wonderful experience. The Hostel is beautiful and the staff is friendly.
  • 100%
  • 01 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • One of the cleanest hostel I have ever been.
  • 100%
  • 26 Dec 2015 Anonymous Japan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »