See other Los Angeles properties

HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica

1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 23.7km

Rating: 80% from 33 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The best selling point is only the location, which is very close to Santa Monica beach. Anything else was not that great. Their dormitory-style bathroom was pretty dirty (I often found hair on the sink), but the worst part was that I had to skip a shower because the water was so unendurably hot it almost burned my skin. Their breakfast was ok. However, there weren't a lot going on at night, since most people came with their groups, not the best place for solo travelers. Uncomfortable bed.
  • 57%
  • 04 May 2016 Anonymous Thailand
  • The HI Santa Monica is nice and clean. They provide a TV-Room, reading room and a pool table which is all nice and good, but still it feels like atmosphere is not very good. Only bad thing: Breakfast. Every slice of toast is packed on it's own. So is every ounce of cornflakes, every little bottle of OJ or milk. Very wasteful and I can't imagine it's cheaper than providing big bags. They do have enough people to provide a proper breakfast, I don't know why they don't :(
  • 69%
  • 24 Apr 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • Great location just 5 minutes from the beach and very cozy courtyard
  • 89%
  • 21 Mar 2016 Pernille Vad Denmark
  • Didn't realize that there was an additional charge for staying there which was not announced on the site. Thought this was poor etiquette. The place had some great common areas. Place was kept pretty clean and free internet.
  • 80%
  • 21 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Room full of stinking travelers who seem to know nothing about personal hygiene. The odor in the room was strong enough to cut with a knife. The ensuite WC was not functioning had to resort to the communal rest room in the corridor. The free breakfast contained as much sugar as a can of soda and the other guests were about as friendly as inmates in a Siberian gulag. I might have forgiven all of it had I managed to get some sleep while staying in the hostel.
  • 43%
  • 14 Jan 2016 Anthony USA
  • It was a wonderful experience. The Hostel is beautiful and the staff is friendly.
  • 100%
  • 01 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • One of the cleanest hostel I have ever been.
  • 100%
  • 26 Dec 2015 Anonymous Japan
  • The staff was very friendly, helpful, and respectful.
  • 91%
  • 12 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Generally a good hostel. Good location. atmosphere is a bit dull. 3.5/5
  • 71%
  • 19 Nov 2015 James Australia
  • The hostel was fine, great location and super clean and safe. But for the price your paying, decent wifi and hot running showers are kind of expected. And the free breakfasts average.
  • 83%
  • 19 Nov 2015 Emma Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »