See other Los Angeles properties

HI Los Angeles - Santa Monica

1436 2nd Street, CA 90401, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 23.7km

Rating: 85% from 10 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel is really nice, it is a beautiful place, great location. The breakfeast is good, comparing to other hostels, they have a big kitchen if you want to cook. One of the best Hotels I stayed so far, the hostel have a nice space for socialize and a great atmosphere. Just one thing to complain: the no Alcohol police is really boring,
    Owner Comment

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We greatly appreciate your feedback! We're glad that you enjoyed the amenities our hostel has to offer! We also would love to serve alcohol, but unfortunately the city has not given us a liquor license so we cannot have it on premise. However, to make up for it we do offer twice weekly pubcrawls, which are super fun and a great way to meet people! Thanks again!

  • 97%
  • 05 Feb 2017 stephanie Brazil
  • Beautiful hostel great location great to stay during the holidays
    Owner Comment

    Hey there, thanks for your review! We are glad you enjoyed our hostel and all the amenities we have to offer! Come visit us again anytime :)

  • 91%
  • 25 Dec 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Location is perfect, it's really safe
    Owner Comment

    Hi there, and thanks so much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us here in Santa Monica!

  • 74%
  • 15 Dec 2016 Takhmina Russia
  • I will visit again
    Owner Comment

    Hey there! We are so glad that you loved staying with us! It was so great to meet you and we really enjoyed having you here! We really hope to see you again in the future! Safe travels!

  • 100%
  • 03 Dec 2016 Piyaphon Thailand
  • Location. location, location. It is within walking distance of the pier and the beach. They are many options for food and beverages all around the place. It is also a short walk away from transit into LA
    Owner Comment

    Thanks so much for your review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our hostel and Santa Monica in general! We hope to see you again soon!

  • 100%
  • 27 Sep 2016 Anonymous USA
  • One day, everything I'd left in the room was stolen. it was hard to get help, no one called me back, no one told the others in the room, there was an unknown man sleeping in the room, there was a clogged toilet and shower, I only got towels for 1/2 the days I stayed, and the cheaper parking I'd called earlier about was no longer available. The location is great! The parking across the street is convenient even if expensive. At times the BR was yukky because of how people were using it.
    Owner Comment

    Hi there Ma'am. We apologize for the incident that you experienced. We do provide all of our guests with lockers for this specific purpose, and we almost never have thefts of this sort. We filed an incident report for you, but as we do not have cameras in the room and as you admitted that your things were not locked away but were rather left on the bed in the open, there was not much else that we could have done. Also, it is worth noting that we did call you back on the phone number that you provided but were unable to leave messages due to the voicemail box being full. Unfortunately, the sweatpants, t-shirt, and toiletries that you reported stolen were not recovered or turned in to the lost and found. Additionally, the gentleman sleeping in the room was accidentally check-ed in to your room by one of our staff in training, and we apologized and removed him as soon as we discovered our mistake. We do apologize for that again, but rest assured, he was not an unknown man, but rather a registered guest. Finally, we replace towels upon request only, so we do not replace them automatically in an effort to encourage our guests to reuse them and to help us conserve water and be more environmentally friendly. Thank you again for your feedback, and we wish you all the best in your future travels.

  • 63%
  • 07 Jul 2016 Judy USA
  • immaculate building, very clean. felt very safe. staff were so helpful. great place to stay.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks so much for your kind review, we are so glad that you enjoyed spending time with us here at HI-Santa Monica! We would love to see you again sometime, so feel free to stop by the next time you are in LA!

  • 97%
  • 14 Jun 2016 Heather Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »