See other New York properties

HI NYC Hostel

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 9.9km

Rating: 85% from 37 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very near to two subway stations and amenities. Excellent staff. Shame about the near $70 per night price tag.
  • 89%
  • 22 Jul 2015 Anonymous England
  • It was an amazing experience! I felt very confortable in the rooms. The staff are very kind and give you many options of things to do. I met realy nice people in that incredible city that never sleeps!
  • 94%
  • 16 Jul 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • My 1st hostel stay and I'm 67 yrs old. Not disappointed. My third business trip to NYC trip this year and thought I'd mix it up a bit. It was a much better experience than I'd might have thought before hand. Give it a shot. Well worth it.
  • 100%
  • 23 Jun 2015 Michael USA
  • This place was great! It was clean, conveniently located, and had a great atmosphere.
  • 97%
  • 19 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very clean and maintained. Staff is helpful and friendly
  • 100%
  • 31 May 2015 Francisco
  • Sometimes It's not easy to make a recommendation, but this Hostel is very nice, I really recommend it.
  • 86%
  • 30 May 2015 fernand Venezuela
  • very friendly and helpful staff! very clean and has a pretty cool atmosphere... however, the dorm beds are both very outdated and uncomfortable!! the rooms smell really bed! the ACs aren't functioning well (it automatically changes the temperature from 70 to 78 for instance.) the rates could have been lower!
  • 77%
  • 24 May 2015 Anonymous Turkey
  • Good place to be, close to subways, clean rooms and bathrooms, good structure, i recommend.
  • 80%
  • 15 May 2015 Luis Carlos Brazil
  • All the Staff were so polite and courteous They are what makes this Hostel a "Big Hit" on my list..
  • 89%
  • 12 May 2015 brian Canada
  • The brief time I spent there was a good experience. The staff was helpful and facilities were good enough for the price.
  • 80%
  • 09 May 2015 Alejandro Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »