See other New York properties

HI NYC Hostel

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 9.9km

Rating: 84% from 32 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Really good hostel. Very secure, as well as being nice ad social and easy to get to.
  • 91%
  • 18 Sep 2016 Aaron Canada
  • Fantastic atmosphere, staff are extremely helpful & friendly. The facilities are spotless. The hostel arrange some fantastic social events, which is great for those travelling on their own and looking to meet new people. Overall, my trip to New York was made even better thanks to this fantastic hostel!
  • 100%
  • 29 Aug 2016 Fiona Cooney Ireland
  • The staff were so uninterested in what they were doing. I found my first impression very disappointing because of this but all in all I enjoyed my stay.
  • 63%
  • 19 Aug 2016 Natalie Australia
  • Great stay! Thank you! I'm happy I finally got a membership!
  • 20%
  • 20 Jul 2016 Cara USA
  • It's a great hostel, very clean, big lockers inside the room. Great bathrooms with free shampoo/soap. Daily activities are made and a nice kitchen.
  • 94%
  • 04 Jul 2016 Tácio Brazil
  • As we all travellers know, HI is almost a warranty of quality. The hostel is very good located, far from the key points (Times Sq, 34th street, etc) but it's really easy to go there, it has 2 MTA lines near. The atmosphere is 100% thought to make the pax to talk and relate. You have the opportunity to talk with other people or stay at the patio by yourself listening music (i did both). I super recommend this hostel.
  • 91%
  • 01 Jul 2016 Sergio Argentina
  • Don't stay anywhere else. Employees take their ions seriously and want you to enjoy your stay. Great train access.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jun 2016 Anonymous American
  • First and foremost, I love that this is a non-profit. After staying At this hostel, I'd never stay anywhere else. The location is perfect for the train. The staff is friendly. I really can't say enough. I slept like a baby. Love the diverse population of guests. #atlanta farm boy
  • 100%
  • 08 Jun 2016 Anonymous American
  • The price is on the higher side when compared to other HI Hostels elsewhere.
  • 80%
  • 20 May 2016 Raj Barath India
  • I arrived in the evening. The staff was very rude: No Hi, No "Welcome". suddenly the person serving me disappeared and another person came and asked me to come to another counter with all my luggage ("If you wanna stay at this place, you have to come over here"). When paying, one dime slipped and fell to the floor. the guy got really rude and threw a penny towards me when giving me the change. besides, the unpleasant staff, the rooms were ok and clean.
  • 57%
  • 20 May 2016 Sebastian USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »