See other New York properties

HI NYC Hostel

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 9.9km

Rating: 85% from 32 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great hostel!!!
  • 100%
  • 29 Oct 2016 Claudia
  • When you arrive at first you have to wait in line for a really long time until the staff, who are too busy chatting with one another, do check you in. Esther is the worst of all. She is so rude to all guest. They give you a security card to enter the room, but mine didn't work, so again waiting in line. The people at the cafe downstairs simply ignore you when you want to get a coffee. I tried it in Spanish too but didn't help. After checking out I wanted to leave my bad there: 5 dollars!
  • 34%
  • 28 Oct 2016 Christopher Germany
  • This was my first time staying at a hostel alone, so I was a little nervous, but the hostel was excellent. It was pretty clean, the food at the cafe was good, it had a lot of comfy sitting areas inside and a nice patio, and pretty comfy beds. It was a little noisy at night (I was right next to the bathroom) but it wasn't too bad. It was also only a block away from the subway. The only thing was that it was a little pricey compared to other hostels in the city.
  • 91%
  • 17 Oct 2016 Leora USA
  • Everything was perfect, but take into consideration that it's full of teenagers, with all that that implies.
  • 94%
  • 15 Oct 2016 Matías Argentina
  • Great place! Great location! highly recommend this place! Nice, clean and friendly/helpful staff. Fun sitting areas inside and out! breakfast included and a café to purchase additional foods. I will surly stay here again when back in NY
  • 100%
  • 07 Oct 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Really good hostel. Very secure, as well as being nice ad social and easy to get to.
  • 91%
  • 18 Sep 2016 Aaron Canada
  • Overall a great hostel with good connections with subway and not that far to walk downtown.
  • 91%
  • 15 Sep 2016 Anonymous Iceland
  • Fantastic atmosphere, staff are extremely helpful & friendly. The facilities are spotless. The hostel arrange some fantastic social events, which is great for those travelling on their own and looking to meet new people. Overall, my trip to New York was made even better thanks to this fantastic hostel!
  • 100%
  • 29 Aug 2016 Fiona Cooney Ireland
  • The staff were so uninterested in what they were doing. I found my first impression very disappointing because of this but all in all I enjoyed my stay.
  • 63%
  • 19 Aug 2016 Natalie Australia
  • Great stay! Thank you! I'm happy I finally got a membership!
  • 20%
  • 20 Jul 2016 Cara USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »