See other New York properties

HI NYC Hostel

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 9.9km

Rating: 84% from 31 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This was my first time staying at a hostel alone, so I was a little nervous, but the hostel was excellent. It was pretty clean, the food at the cafe was good, it had a lot of comfy sitting areas inside and a nice patio, and pretty comfy beds. It was a little noisy at night (I was right next to the bathroom) but it wasn't too bad. It was also only a block away from the subway. The only thing was that it was a little pricey compared to other hostels in the city.
  • 91%
  • 17 Oct 2016 Leora USA
  • Great place! Great location! highly recommend this place! Nice, clean and friendly/helpful staff. Fun sitting areas inside and out! breakfast included and a café to purchase additional foods. I will surly stay here again when back in NY
  • 100%
  • 07 Oct 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Really good hostel. Very secure, as well as being nice ad social and easy to get to.
  • 91%
  • 18 Sep 2016 Aaron Canada
  • Overall a great hostel with good connections with subway and not that far to walk downtown.
  • 91%
  • 15 Sep 2016 Anonymous Iceland
  • Fantastic atmosphere, staff are extremely helpful & friendly. The facilities are spotless. The hostel arrange some fantastic social events, which is great for those travelling on their own and looking to meet new people. Overall, my trip to New York was made even better thanks to this fantastic hostel!
  • 100%
  • 29 Aug 2016 Fiona Cooney Ireland
  • The staff were so uninterested in what they were doing. I found my first impression very disappointing because of this but all in all I enjoyed my stay.
  • 63%
  • 19 Aug 2016 Natalie Australia
  • Great stay! Thank you! I'm happy I finally got a membership!
  • 20%
  • 20 Jul 2016 Cara USA
  • It's a great hostel, very clean, big lockers inside the room. Great bathrooms with free shampoo/soap. Daily activities are made and a nice kitchen.
  • 94%
  • 04 Jul 2016 Tácio Brazil
  • As we all travellers know, HI is almost a warranty of quality. The hostel is very good located, far from the key points (Times Sq, 34th street, etc) but it's really easy to go there, it has 2 MTA lines near. The atmosphere is 100% thought to make the pax to talk and relate. You have the opportunity to talk with other people or stay at the patio by yourself listening music (i did both). I super recommend this hostel.
  • 91%
  • 01 Jul 2016 Sergio Argentina
  • Don't stay anywhere else. Employees take their ions seriously and want you to enjoy your stay. Great train access.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jun 2016 Anonymous American
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »