See other New York properties

HI NYC Hostel

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 9.9km

Rating: 86% from 38 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It's a great hostel, very clean, big lockers inside the room. Great bathrooms with free shampoo/soap. Daily activities are made and a nice kitchen.
  • 94%
  • 04 Jul 2016 Tácio Brazil
  • Don't stay anywhere else. Employees take their ions seriously and want you to enjoy your stay. Great train access.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jun 2016 Anonymous American
  • First and foremost, I love that this is a non-profit. After staying At this hostel, I'd never stay anywhere else. The location is perfect for the train. The staff is friendly. I really can't say enough. I slept like a baby. Love the diverse population of guests. #atlanta farm boy
  • 100%
  • 08 Jun 2016 Anonymous American
  • The price is on the higher side when compared to other HI Hostels elsewhere.
  • 80%
  • 20 May 2016 Raj Barath India
  • I arrived in the evening. The staff was very rude: No Hi, No "Welcome". suddenly the person serving me disappeared and another person came and asked me to come to another counter with all my luggage ("If you wanna stay at this place, you have to come over here"). When paying, one dime slipped and fell to the floor. the guy got really rude and threw a penny towards me when giving me the change. besides, the unpleasant staff, the rooms were ok and clean.
  • 57%
  • 20 May 2016 Sebastian USA
  • This hostel is perfect for visiting NYC. The location is great for getting around by the subway and is very close to Central Park. There are organised activities and socialising events on offer if that's what you're into, there are several communal areas to socialise in as well. The cafe was great and the large kitchen has everything you would need. Would definitely recommend this hostel.
  • 89%
  • 17 May 2016 Anonymous England
  • The best hostel i've stayed. An excellent and beautiful hostel. The staff was so nice and helpful. It's close to two metro stationsand the neighborhood is secure. You can meet people from around the world and share with them eating, playing and in the rooms. They had gluten free options, and that's a big point in favor for them, 'cause i can eat only gluten free meals. I stayed in a room for ten girls, was big, the bed was confortable and you had your space for your stuff.
  • 100%
  • 16 May 2016 Anonymous Chile
  • The hostel was great! It was super clean, and the bathrooms and showers were clean as well. The breakfast was delicious - cooked right in front of you. I mean, it was just a great all-around experience. I met some cool people in the hostel too. I think I'm going to come back again when I come back to New York. Thank you!
  • 100%
  • 10 Apr 2016 Vernon USA
  • Great place, had an amazing time staying here and meeting people
  • 100%
  • 19 Mar 2016 Alberto
  • The hostel is very complete, the lobby is very comfortable with a great place to buy excellent and cheap food; the kitchen is very big and complete; the theater room and the pool table are super cool. Also the activities they offer are great! Another very important thing, is that it's very very clean, beds, rooms, restrooms and all the common areas!
  • 94%
  • 20 Jan 2016 Anonymous Chile
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »