See other New York properties

HI NYC Hostel

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 9.9km

Rating: 82% from 23 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel is great. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Facilities are great. Events occour very often. The only thing to complain is that the elevator is kind slow..but thats not that bad.
  • 89%
  • 04 May 2017 Anonymous Brazil
  • I really enjoyed my stay. All staff members that I encountered were very nice and helpful. I liked all the housekeeping on the 3rd floor. I'll be back as soon as possible!
  • 91%
  • 28 Dec 2016 Nancy USA
  • Everything was very good. For the dorm price, they could include a basic breakfast.
  • 97%
  • 26 Dec 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • Good Hostel with helpful and friendly staff Thank you for great stay :o)
  • 100%
  • 25 Dec 2016 Anonymous Norway
  • Very poorly laid out hostel. Definitely a step down from other HI hostels on the East Coast.
  • 60%
  • 01 Dec 2016 Morgan New Zealand
  • Great hostel!!!
  • 100%
  • 29 Oct 2016 Claudia
  • When you arrive at first you have to wait in line for a really long time until the staff, who are too busy chatting with one another, do check you in. Esther is the worst of all. She is so rude to all guest. They give you a security card to enter the room, but mine didn't work, so again waiting in line. The people at the cafe downstairs simply ignore you when you want to get a coffee. I tried it in Spanish too but didn't help. After checking out I wanted to leave my bad there: 5 dollars!
  • 34%
  • 28 Oct 2016 Christopher Germany
  • This was my first time staying at a hostel alone, so I was a little nervous, but the hostel was excellent. It was pretty clean, the food at the cafe was good, it had a lot of comfy sitting areas inside and a nice patio, and pretty comfy beds. It was a little noisy at night (I was right next to the bathroom) but it wasn't too bad. It was also only a block away from the subway. The only thing was that it was a little pricey compared to other hostels in the city.
  • 91%
  • 17 Oct 2016 Leora USA
  • Everything was perfect, but take into consideration that it's full of teenagers, with all that that implies.
  • 94%
  • 15 Oct 2016 Matías Argentina
  • Great place! Great location! highly recommend this place! Nice, clean and friendly/helpful staff. Fun sitting areas inside and out! breakfast included and a café to purchase additional foods. I will surly stay here again when back in NY
  • 100%
  • 07 Oct 2016 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »