See other New York properties

HI NYC Hostel

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 9.9km

Rating: 86% from 45 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel was great! It was super clean, and the bathrooms and showers were clean as well. The breakfast was delicious - cooked right in front of you. I mean, it was just a great all-around experience. I met some cool people in the hostel too. I think I'm going to come back again when I come back to New York. Thank you!
  • 100%
  • 10 Apr 2016 Vernon USA
  • Great place, had an amazing time staying here and meeting people
  • 100%
  • 19 Mar 2016 Alberto
  • The hostel is very complete, the lobby is very comfortable with a great place to buy excellent and cheap food; the kitchen is very big and complete; the theater room and the pool table are super cool. Also the activities they offer are great! Another very important thing, is that it's very very clean, beds, rooms, restrooms and all the common areas!
  • 94%
  • 20 Jan 2016 Anonymous Chile
  • When I visit New York,I always try to stay at your hostel.Because it is very convenient and safe.The location is very good.This is the best place to stay alone. I also like the kitchen very much.It is very clean and I can cook anything.It is fun to see everyone is cooking.I often recommend your hostel to my friends who want to stay in NY.
  • 77%
  • 26 Nov 2015 Makiko Japan
  • The air conditioning unit had a very squeaky belt in room 230. A patron stole my iPhone 6 charger. A guy snores the entire night, would have woke up the dead. Otherwise things were great. I would do it again.
  • 86%
  • 24 Oct 2015 Steven
  • I had a wonderful time, thank you!
  • 100%
  • 14 Oct 2015 Robert USA
  • Great place. I would come back!
  • 80%
  • 09 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I wish the theater room worked like it used to. With people going to watch TV and relax.
  • 80%
  • 06 Oct 2015 Stephanie Peru
  • I'm so glad we stayed here. By far the best stay we've had in NYC: Near the subway. Spotless. Key cards to get into living area and to get into the room. Large lockers in the room. A good number of showers. Places to relax both inside and out. Excellent food area (felt like you were at Starbucks but better food and nicer service). They even had live music on the patio when we got back from seeing a play. It's expensive to stay but NYC is expensive all the way around when it accommodations.
  • 97%
  • 17 Sep 2015 Grace USA
  • The hostel was really nice. I only stayed one night so I was unable to full advantage of the facilities. However the common areas looked really inviting, the staff were really friendly and the rooms were clean and secure.
  • 91%
  • 07 Sep 2015 Bridget
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »