See other New York properties

HI NYC Hostel

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 9.9km

Rating: 85% from 37 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • everything is good , if simple and normal traveler have to take care to identity stuffs , and don't keep your own water open for the public. Reason is it is still have many different kinds of people stay in this hostle , some they are normal communication and some are not. take care.
  • 69%
  • 01 May 2015 wing ling Hong Kong
  • Too much noise, too much giggling, laughing, slamming doors in the hallway till 3 AM. The quiet time policy is BS.
  • 66%
  • 26 Mar 2015 Leonardo USA
  • Good hostel to stay in
  • 83%
  • 31 Dec 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • It is the best hostel I have ever seen. Next time I'm going to new york, I will definitely stay at HI-Nyc hostel
  • 100%
  • 24 Dec 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Easily the best hostel I have stayed in.
  • 91%
  • 03 Dec 2014 Damien England
  • This one employee, Yolainde or Yolanda something like that was soooooo rude and has THE worst attitude out of any hotel or hostel I have ever stayed at
  • 71%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Biggest hostel I've stayed at, clean, very close to the subway terminal and seemed like everything took about the same time to get to, very centrally located. They have an employee by the name of Yolanda steer away from her if you can, EXTREMELY RUDE. Other than that you can't really go wrong with this hostel considering the price.
  • 86%
  • 09 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great guest service, super friendly, loved the atmosphere. I enjoyed my stay!
  • 71%
  • 25 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The HI New York City NYC Hostel is located near central park. The staff in the hostel are very friendly and welcoming. The atmosphere is excellent, security is excellent, and the location is perfect. The hostel provides free wifi, free breakfast, and free towel. The rooms are very large and the hostel has a large living room in the first floor where you can easily meet new friends. Overall, I highly recommend this hostel for both local and international students. Thanks!! A+
  • 94%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It is a very nice hostel, but very expensive for a hostel. The tours were alright and most of them are free - I participated in the Brooklyn Twilight Tour. The views were incredible and well worth it.
  • 80%
  • 24 Aug 2014 Wanda New Zealand
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »