See other New York properties

HI NYC Hostel

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 9.9km

Rating: 87% from 42 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great place. I would come back!
  • 80%
  • 09 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I wish the theater room worked like it used to. With people going to watch TV and relax.
  • 80%
  • 06 Oct 2015 Stephanie Peru
  • I'm so glad we stayed here. By far the best stay we've had in NYC: Near the subway. Spotless. Key cards to get into living area and to get into the room. Large lockers in the room. A good number of showers. Places to relax both inside and out. Excellent food area (felt like you were at Starbucks but better food and nicer service). They even had live music on the patio when we got back from seeing a play. It's expensive to stay but NYC is expensive all the way around when it accommodations.
  • 97%
  • 17 Sep 2015 Grace USA
  • The hostel was really nice. I only stayed one night so I was unable to full advantage of the facilities. However the common areas looked really inviting, the staff were really friendly and the rooms were clean and secure.
  • 91%
  • 07 Sep 2015 Bridget
  • It is in the upwest side, super easy to visit museums. I really like the hostel and would highly recommend that to anyone plan to visit nyc.
  • 100%
  • 06 Sep 2015 yang China
  • I had a great time and the staff were amazing! So friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend it to family and friends.
  • 100%
  • 24 Aug 2015 Lara Australia
  • It was a nice experience, the staff was very kind, and all the place seemed very cleaned and organized
  • 94%
  • 18 Aug 2015 Mayra Colombia
  • Great atmosphere. Staff do an amazing job of ensuring guests feel welcome and are always happy to help. Their supererogation has ensured my recommendation.
  • 97%
  • 08 Aug 2015 Phillip Australia
  • Comedy night is good!!! Keep that for sure!
  • 80%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Anbo China
  • Very near to two subway stations and amenities. Excellent staff. Shame about the near $70 per night price tag.
  • 89%
  • 22 Jul 2015 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »