See other New York properties

HI New York City NYC Hostel

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 9.9km

Rating: 84% from 31 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Too much noise, too much giggling, laughing, slamming doors in the hallway till 3 AM. The quiet time policy is BS.
  • 66%
  • 26 Mar 2015 Leonardo USA
  • Good hostel to stay in
  • 83%
  • 31 Dec 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • It is the best hostel I have ever seen. Next time I'm going to new york, I will definitely stay at HI-Nyc hostel
  • 100%
  • 24 Dec 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Easily the best hostel I have stayed in.
  • 91%
  • 03 Dec 2014 Damien England
  • This one employee, Yolainde or Yolanda something like that was soooooo rude and has THE worst attitude out of any hotel or hostel I have ever stayed at
  • 71%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great guest service, super friendly, loved the atmosphere. I enjoyed my stay!
  • 71%
  • 25 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The HI New York City NYC Hostel is located near central park. The staff in the hostel are very friendly and welcoming. The atmosphere is excellent, security is excellent, and the location is perfect. The hostel provides free wifi, free breakfast, and free towel. The rooms are very large and the hostel has a large living room in the first floor where you can easily meet new friends. Overall, I highly recommend this hostel for both local and international students. Thanks!! A+
  • 94%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It is a very nice hostel, but very expensive for a hostel. The tours were alright and most of them are free - I participated in the Brooklyn Twilight Tour. The views were incredible and well worth it.
  • 80%
  • 24 Aug 2014 Wanda New Zealand
  • Nice. Enjoyed.
  • 100%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I was very impressed by my experience with HI - New York City. The atmosphere was very friendly and comfortable; the staff was extremely helpful, especially when I had to leave my luggage due to checking in too early; and the cafe made for a wonderful breakfast. I enjoyed it so much that I posted about it on my Facebook and recommended it to any of my single friends travelling to New York City. Definitely planning to stay here again next time I'm in New York!
  • 100%
  • 01 Aug 2014 Melanie USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »