See other New York properties

HI - New York City NYC Hostel

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 9.9km

Rating: 85% from 46 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It is a very nice hostel, but very expensive for a hostel. The tours were alright and most of them are free - I participated in the Brooklyn Twilight Tour. The views were incredible and well worth it.
  • 80%
  • 24 Aug 2014 Wanda New Zealand
  • Nice. Enjoyed.
  • 100%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I was very impressed by my experience with HI - New York City. The atmosphere was very friendly and comfortable; the staff was extremely helpful, especially when I had to leave my luggage due to checking in too early; and the cafe made for a wonderful breakfast. I enjoyed it so much that I posted about it on my Facebook and recommended it to any of my single friends travelling to New York City. Definitely planning to stay here again next time I'm in New York!
  • 100%
  • 01 Aug 2014 Melanie USA
  • I pretty much was only at the hostel to shower and sleep. The breakfast coupons are incredible, as is the cafe. The food is so good. The beds are comfy and I love the two outlets and light above each bed. The staff were nice and the place was clean and very secure. Only downside was the location but there are two different subway lined either side of the hostel which can get you to Times Square in about 15 minutes or so.
  • 86%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Loved the bathrooms! Very pretty!
  • 97%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Tracy USA
  • This was my first experience in an American hostel, and it was a really great experience. If you're traveling and looking for a way to have your basic lodging needs met and save a little money, I'd highly recommend this hostel. The location was perfect! There were a lot of people to meet and activities to participate in if that's what you want. Rooms and bathrooms were great, and overall the hostel met my needs.
  • 97%
  • 06 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Good hostel, the ambiance very good, very interesting to meet new people common area. Good location, next to a metro station. Could improve a little cleaning and conditioned air, but I have really come to this hostel when you return in NYC.
  • 80%
  • 21 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Hi, I think the noise is terrible! and some windows can't be close and the elevator is so slow!
  • 49%
  • 11 May 2014 Beatriz Chile
  • The building is amazing, the Harlem tour is awesome!
  • 80%
  • 01 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • MALE TOILETS IS SO FAR AT FLOOR. FEMALE TOILET SHOULD BE CHANGED TO MENS AND INCREASED. ELEVATOR SHOUE BE RENEWAL AND ADDED AS TWO.
  • 49%
  • 26 Apr 2014 Anonymous Japan
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Undoubtedly one of the prettiest and most other-worldly sights you're going to see on this planet, this natural phenom is caused by the collision of electrically charged particles from the sun. To us, it's an eerie sheet of coloured light, like a big rave in the sky. And here are the top spots to watch it!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »