See other New York properties

HI New York City NYC Hostel

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 9.9km

Rating: 84% from 43 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Hi, I think the noise is terrible! and some windows can't be close and the elevator is so slow!
  • 49%
  • 11 May 2014 Beatriz Chile
  • The building is amazing, the Harlem tour is awesome!
  • 80%
  • 01 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • MALE TOILETS IS SO FAR AT FLOOR. FEMALE TOILET SHOULD BE CHANGED TO MENS AND INCREASED. ELEVATOR SHOUE BE RENEWAL AND ADDED AS TWO.
  • 49%
  • 26 Apr 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • I was amazed by how clean all the facilities were kept and the washrooms/shower rooms were immaculate. The staff were extremely friendly and are always willing to help with any questions. I'd recommend Hostelling to any one looking for great accommodation.
  • 100%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • It is my favored place to stay in Manhattan.
  • 97%
  • 23 Apr 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • HI Hostel in New York was really great. It's super big and has all the facilities you need. Bathrooms were clean and loved how they organised social events everyday. Because its such a big place meeting people can be tricky so definitely a big thumbs up to them social events. Great kitchen facilities and communal seating areas. It did get a little bit hectic at times in those communal areas with large amounts of school groups coming through. But otherwise no complaints.
  • 97%
  • 30 Mar 2014 Hijriyah Australia
  • VERY CLEAN. At least the room I was in, it was clean. The lockers were a great thing to have. Felt very safe.
  • 80%
  • 24 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The rooms smelled like foot, housekeeping did not make my bed (they just did this once a new person came in), the heater was noisy and people kept shutting it down and the room ended up very cold. The outlet above my bed was broken, I reported it and the staff just told me to use the one from the bed below, wich was occupied already. The floor on the showers was too cold, one of the showers did not have hot water and towels were only replaced on demand. I got scabies in this hostel!!!
  • 40%
  • 27 Feb 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • The hostel was excellent! The staff were more then accomodating. The hostel was pristine. Not any rubbish in sight. The hostel had great kitchen facilities, spotless rooms, tidy bathrooms. If I had any negative things to say? It would be the annoying wifi, and having to enter your room number almost every time you activated your iPhone. Secondly, if they had the facilities to play music while playing pool, that would be great. The location of this hostel is perfect. Overall stay: 10/10
  • 97%
  • 04 Feb 2014 Christopher
  • The place is great, clean and organized. People are friendly. Its closes to the subway and central park. Great location
  • 91%
  • 27 Jan 2014 denis Chile
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »