See other New York properties

HI - New York City

891 Amsterdam Avenue, NY 10025-4403, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 9.9km

Rating: 85% from 51 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Loved the bathrooms! Very pretty!
  • 97%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Tracy USA
  • This was my first experience in an American hostel, and it was a really great experience. If you're traveling and looking for a way to have your basic lodging needs met and save a little money, I'd highly recommend this hostel. The location was perfect! There were a lot of people to meet and activities to participate in if that's what you want. Rooms and bathrooms were great, and overall the hostel met my needs.
  • 97%
  • 06 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Good hostel, the ambiance very good, very interesting to meet new people common area. Good location, next to a metro station. Could improve a little cleaning and conditioned air, but I have really come to this hostel when you return in NYC.
  • 80%
  • 21 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Hi, I think the noise is terrible! and some windows can't be close and the elevator is so slow!
  • 49%
  • 11 May 2014 Beatriz Chile
  • The building is amazing, the Harlem tour is awesome!
  • 80%
  • 01 May 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • MALE TOILETS IS SO FAR AT FLOOR. FEMALE TOILET SHOULD BE CHANGED TO MENS AND INCREASED. ELEVATOR SHOUE BE RENEWAL AND ADDED AS TWO.
  • 49%
  • 26 Apr 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • I was amazed by how clean all the facilities were kept and the washrooms/shower rooms were immaculate. The staff were extremely friendly and are always willing to help with any questions. I'd recommend Hostelling to any one looking for great accommodation.
  • 100%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • It is my favored place to stay in Manhattan.
  • 97%
  • 23 Apr 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • HI Hostel in New York was really great. It's super big and has all the facilities you need. Bathrooms were clean and loved how they organised social events everyday. Because its such a big place meeting people can be tricky so definitely a big thumbs up to them social events. Great kitchen facilities and communal seating areas. It did get a little bit hectic at times in those communal areas with large amounts of school groups coming through. But otherwise no complaints.
  • 97%
  • 30 Mar 2014 Hijriyah Australia
  • VERY CLEAN. At least the room I was in, it was clean. The lockers were a great thing to have. Felt very safe.
  • 80%
  • 24 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »