See other Phoenix properties

HI - Phoenix - The Metcalf House Hostel

1026 North 9th Street, Phoenix, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 94% from 15 reviews

  • 97%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 96%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel is nice but the location seems a little bit unsafe. Of course this is not the hostel's fault but i didn't like the neighborhood.
  • 80%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • The private room was nice and a comfy bed, although a shared bathroom it was fine and didn't have to wait. The staff were great and helpful, letting us hangout a bit on our last day as our bus left in the evening. The atmosphere here is really nice and the outside space has been well thought out and is maintained really well, a nice place to chill out :) Breakfast is good and the kitchen is nice with everything you need!
  • 86%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Anonymous England
  • +Very pleased with my stay! Great vibe by staff in a community setting. Had a great Gluten Free dinner with everybody helping out, the hostel makes you feel very welcome. Watched a great movie in the back yard Cinema, I recommend to anybody that enjoys the hostel experience, much love, Peace!
  • 97%
  • 16 Mar 2014 Darren Canada
  • My trip got off to a rocky start, but the staff at the hostel more than made up for it with the effort they put into remedying the situation.
  • 100%
  • 16 Mar 2014 Marion USA
  • great place, would do again. room gets cold at night was my only complaint
  • 83%
  • 02 Mar 2014 Santonu USA
  • This hostel is nothing short of amazing. The people, the community arounfd it are what makes this hostel so wonderful. They host incredible events that feature local artist. They provide extensive support to those who come to the hostel.
  • 100%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Juliana USA
  • This was one of the most surprisingly amazing places I have stayed in a long time. Plus, to read the board and to see what they had coming up event-wise for the people of Phoenix as well as their guests… bar none the best! Wish I lived so close.
  • 100%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Ellie USA
  • Love this hostel all around! The super nice garden, the fun backyard with games, the super nice and helpful staff, the atmosphere and the special events that makes it so easy to meet and make friends with other guests-- i had the best time ever! Thanks Phx HI for being so cool and fun!
  • 100%
  • 01 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Best Hostel!! They have the perfect location, right downtown in a cool arts district with fun bars, live music, art walks and great people! We had a big group dinner and then went to a concert. It was fun, I felt safe, and everything was very clean. The staff is the most friendly and helpful group of people. Grab a drink and a good conversation with Keith, full of wonderful stories and insight. Sunrise hike with Kate is amazing. Then play music with the talented Al and Cilla, so many good times!
  • 100%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Francisco Spain
  • Best hostel in America! It was safe, clean, and FUN! There were many things to do and the staff was so fun and helpful. Keith was great to talk with, Kate took us all on a beautiful hike in the Southern Mountains, and Chilla showed me all of the fun bars in Phoenix! I went for 1 night and decided to stay for 4 because there was so much to do. We had a big dinner with everyone and then went to an art walk together. Thank you Phoenix Hostel, I hope to return sometime soon!! Abrazos fuertes!!
  • 100%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Luisa Chile
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »