See other Portland properties

HI - Portland Hawthorne Hostel

3031 SE Hawthorne Blvd., Oregon, Portland, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.6km

Rating: 83% from 29 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I have no complaints about the hostel. The histel and its staff were great. My only complaint has not a lot to do with the hostel but with the other travelers in it. Some of the women in my room were very inconsiderate and rude to the other travelers. They would come at all hours and be very loud and obnoxious. This isn't the hostels fault. But maybe there could be some more signs about being considerate of other travelers.
  • 80%
  • 27 Nov 2014 Natalie USA
  • The Portland Hawthorne Hostel was an amazing place which
  • 97%
  • 21 Nov 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Such a cozy hostel! People were very friendly, and the rooms are colorful and clean. Free breakfast and wifi. Only down side was one bathroom/shower per 8 suite. Otherwise a great stay!
  • 97%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Cool hostel in a nice area of Portland. Would definitely go there again!
  • 86%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Laura Germany
  • Could use a bit more "hostel events". Otherwise the place is cozy and it's nice to see the people there have adopted an eco-friendly logic
  • 86%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Anonymous France
  • Beds were extremely hard and pillows extremely flat. Bathrooms were cramped. Breakfast was do it yourself pancakes. Plenty of stores and cafés in the neighborhood.
  • 69%
  • 14 Aug 2014 Pauline USA
  • Very clean room, helpful staff, great breakfast (replenished when done), modern door codes not keys, towels provided, location good (great bus routes), never had to wait for a shower but only one shower and two toilets on our floor, no lockers but it felt safe, family orientated had to be quiet after 10pm which was annoying as the main living and kitchen area had bedrooms attached.
  • 83%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Rhiannon England
  • The hostel is relatively far from the downtown area, so plan ahead with public transportation if you want to stay late in the downtown area. The beds were horrible - old mattress made it feel like I was sleeping on a piece of wood. Free breakfast is a plus, but there is no real common room or any entertainment facilities
  • 66%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Hostel was well-supplied with clean linens, laundry facilities, lockers, and restrooms. Very knowledgeable staff, and close to anything you would need. it was my first experience staying in a hostel and I would definitely return.
  • 94%
  • 02 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • That's an awesome place! Small n full of good people!
  • 100%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »