See other Portland properties

HI - Portland Hawthorne Hostel

3031 SE Hawthorne Blvd., Oregon, Portland, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.6km

Rating: 80% from 23 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff was very professional and know the cool spots to hit up very well. I enjoyed my time tremendously, made my friends and will be back soon.
  • 97%
  • 22 May 2015 Anonymous Nicaragua
  • probably one of the worst experiences of my life dealing with you guys it was horrible I got treated like a dog
  • 20%
  • 12 Apr 2015 Kyle USA
  • very well run, good systems in place, excellent display of earth wise building potential for the area.
  • 91%
  • 27 Feb 2015 jud USA
  • I have no complaints about the hostel. The histel and its staff were great. My only complaint has not a lot to do with the hostel but with the other travelers in it. Some of the women in my room were very inconsiderate and rude to the other travelers. They would come at all hours and be very loud and obnoxious. This isn't the hostels fault. But maybe there could be some more signs about being considerate of other travelers.
  • 80%
  • 27 Nov 2014 Natalie USA
  • The Portland Hawthorne Hostel was an amazing place which
  • 97%
  • 21 Nov 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Such a cozy hostel! People were very friendly, and the rooms are colorful and clean. Free breakfast and wifi. Only down side was one bathroom/shower per 8 suite. Otherwise a great stay!
  • 97%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Cool hostel in a nice area of Portland. Would definitely go there again!
  • 86%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Laura Germany
  • Could use a bit more "hostel events". Otherwise the place is cozy and it's nice to see the people there have adopted an eco-friendly logic
  • 86%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Anonymous France
  • Beds were extremely hard and pillows extremely flat. Bathrooms were cramped. Breakfast was do it yourself pancakes. Plenty of stores and cafés in the neighborhood.
  • 69%
  • 14 Aug 2014 Pauline USA
  • Very clean room, helpful staff, great breakfast (replenished when done), modern door codes not keys, towels provided, location good (great bus routes), never had to wait for a shower but only one shower and two toilets on our floor, no lockers but it felt safe, family orientated had to be quiet after 10pm which was annoying as the main living and kitchen area had bedrooms attached.
  • 83%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Rhiannon England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Whatever kind of traveller you are, it can be hard to see everything you want in a short space of time.  Take the three countries of Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam.  Seeing everyt...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »