See other Portland properties

HI - Portland Hawthorne Hostel

3031 SE Hawthorne Blvd., Oregon, Portland, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.6km

Rating: 85% from 28 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Cool hostel in a nice area of Portland. Would definitely go there again!
  • 86%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Laura Germany
  • Could use a bit more "hostel events". Otherwise the place is cozy and it's nice to see the people there have adopted an eco-friendly logic
  • 86%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Anonymous France
  • Beds were extremely hard and pillows extremely flat. Bathrooms were cramped. Breakfast was do it yourself pancakes. Plenty of stores and cafés in the neighborhood.
  • 69%
  • 14 Aug 2014 Pauline USA
  • Very clean room, helpful staff, great breakfast (replenished when done), modern door codes not keys, towels provided, location good (great bus routes), never had to wait for a shower but only one shower and two toilets on our floor, no lockers but it felt safe, family orientated had to be quiet after 10pm which was annoying as the main living and kitchen area had bedrooms attached.
  • 83%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Rhiannon England
  • The hostel is relatively far from the downtown area, so plan ahead with public transportation if you want to stay late in the downtown area. The beds were horrible - old mattress made it feel like I was sleeping on a piece of wood. Free breakfast is a plus, but there is no real common room or any entertainment facilities
  • 66%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Hostel was well-supplied with clean linens, laundry facilities, lockers, and restrooms. Very knowledgeable staff, and close to anything you would need. it was my first experience staying in a hostel and I would definitely return.
  • 94%
  • 02 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • That's an awesome place! Small n full of good people!
  • 100%
  • 17 Jun 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • The staff seemed new, or vaguely unfamiliar with the area and orientation to the hostel.
  • 77%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Jeff USA
  • Very nice hostel, incredibly friendly staff.
  • 91%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I love this place. I met so many solid gold human beings here. I will be telling other travelers about this hostel.
  • 89%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Leah USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »