See other Portland properties

HI - Portland - Hawthorne

3031 SE Hawthorne Blvd., Oregon, Portland, USA, Distance from city centre: 3.6km

Rating: 89% from 17 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Had a great experience. Expectations were easily exceeded.
  • 91%
  • 03 Apr 2014 Adam USA
  • It felt homey, especially with the DIY pancakes for breakfast. Guests mostly cooked their meals at the kitchen.
  • 74%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Carmela Canada
  • I only stayed in Portland for one day, it's easy to catch the bus from here. I didn't see breakfast but also didn't ask- I think there was make your own pancakes. Clean, I was a little freaked out when I saw there was a bathroom that had to always be open, but there was one that locked upstairs. Staff helped me out with quarters for laundry machine which was definitely appreciated.
  • 91%
  • 23 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Staying there allowed me to learn of and experience the "Hawthorne District" of Portland, a new part of the city for me. So, bonus points. They might consider establishing a bulletin board highlightng happy hours, movies and special events at thos nearby businesses on Hawthorne. Night time lighting was a bit of a problem in the men's dorm. Turn it on, wake up everyone. Turn it off, you cannot see to undress and put your things away. The hostel and staff were A++. Friendly and helpful.
  • 94%
  • 06 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • You meet great staff and fun travelers here, I definitely would recommend staying here.
  • 91%
  • 03 Sep 2013 eisen USA
  • Great location, friendly staff. Will come here again!
  • 86%
  • 04 Aug 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Had a really great experience. Very well kept hostel and staff was really nice!
  • 100%
  • 17 Jul 2013 Brian USA
  • Thank you for the great service! I had a great experience. Hope to have another soon.
  • 100%
  • 13 Jun 2013 Maxwell USA
  • no drinking? no activities? cmon.
  • 74%
  • 03 Jun 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. Super friendly staff, can recommend fun stuff tole good local places. Nice and clean and really homey and pretty. I definitely recommend this place. I really hope HI doesn't make anyone wear uniforms though because it just makes employees look sloppy and unhappy.
  • 100%
  • 17 Apr 2013 Maribel USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »