See other Portland properties

HI Portland - Northwest

479 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon, Portland, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 88% from 23 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 93%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed here during my first solo trip. As a 20 year old female, I was a bit nervous on what to expect. No need! HI Northwest was nothing short of amazing. My roomates were also fantastic. The free bagel and coffee in the morning was delicious. The location is great. You can walk pretty much everywhere, or take the MAX if you prefer. I have nothing but good things to say about my experience! I stayed for a week and loved it.
  • 94%
  • 01 Mar 2018 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent Hostel, You can walk most places downtown and there are plenty of excellent Bars/Restaurants nearby. Place is safe clean and staff are very helpful, excellent spot if you like a cleaner hostel. Breakfast was a bagel and Coffee/Tea so pretty mediocre Not much of a social aspect at this hostel. Still an excellent stay I would stay here again.
  • 86%
  • 09 Feb 2018 Harrison Canada
  • Great hostel with friendly staff! I will definitely stay here again.
  • 100%
  • 28 Oct 2017 Anonymous USA
  • Fantastic experience. Thank you!
  • 100%
  • 20 Oct 2017 Anonymous USA
  • The accommodations were good for what I needed for my trip to Portland. I enjoyed the free bagel with the fixings and coffee in the mornings. The staff was all very helpful and informative. The free walking tour of Portland with Margo was very good and informative as well. I flew in and out of the Portland Airport. I used the MAX to get to the Hostel and back to the airport. I walked everywhere else. It was all very convenient. I enjoyed my stay. Thank you, Pam
  • 86%
  • 23 Sep 2017 Pamela USA
  • Great value, very helpful staff. Highly recommend this hostel.
  • 97%
  • 25 Jul 2017 Elizabeth H USA
  • I'm alarmed I'm even getting this. I cancelled this booking within minutes of making it - weeks in advance of the date. I hope I was not charged for the stay!!
  • 20%
  • 04 Jul 2017 Ava Canada
  • What this hostel lacks is comfortable beds (the pillows are hard and flat and the mattress is thin). The pillow problem could be easily fixed with some inexpensive pillows upgraded at IKEA. The beds also creak any time someone moves so it can be pretty noisy. I could even hear the beds creaking in the room next to mine at night. And there is little atmosphere, likely due to it being a large chain hoste. I was hoping to meet fellow travelers but the hostel always seemed empty.
  • 74%
  • 02 Jul 2017 Lindsey USA
  • Helpful friendly staff. Comfortable atmosphere. I would definitely stay there again.Overall two thumbs up!
  • 91%
  • 26 Jun 2017 Catherine USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »