See other Portland properties

HI - Portland - Northwest

425 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon, Portland, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 90% from 44 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • great place to stay ! friendly and helpful staff ! good location !
  • 100%
  • 24 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel - friendly staff, beautiful neighborhood, comfortable beds, big lockers, and excellent bathrooms. My only quibbles are a lack of power outlets and they have a small parking lot and street parking can be hard to find.
  • 94%
  • 04 Apr 2015 Ruth USA
  • It's a very nice hostel. The location is really accessible to a lot of the city's attractions. I actually walked to most of the places I was interested in visiting. Unfortunately, I can't say I'd stay there again. The hostel is carpeted, particularly in the bedrooms. Despite taking tons of allergy meds I had a lot of trouble breathing at night and my throat is incredibly sore. They do vacuum daily but with so many people coming in and out perhaps that's not enough, at least for allergy sufferers
  • 97%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I feel that it should be stated online that are hidden tax fees. Also the website does not give you all the information you should know about the hostel. It is better to go through the hostel then it is to go through the websjte, I found out later on.
  • 94%
  • 01 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The staff surpass all expectations for customer service. They are knowledgeable and informative and just darn good humans
  • 100%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • After a poor experience staying at HI San Fran Fisherman's Wharf I was hesitant about my trip to Portland, but lo and behold the facilities, location and overall experience at the Northwest Portland hostel proved to be much better. I'd definitely return on future visits.
  • 97%
  • 30 Jan 2015 Jeremy USA
  • The staff was super nice and helpful!
  • 97%
  • 23 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • booked a single room for $59 weekday night and $69 weekend night. changed room THREE times the night I arrived (had to drag my luggage all the way myself). their single room is HORRIBLE compared with double room which is only $10 more expensive. really don't understand they could charge me that much for those shabby tiny smelly cold single rooms. had to change to double room later. the staff seemed ignorant of my request. though one of them is quite good and helpful.
  • 80%
  • 07 Jan 2015 Anonymous China
  • There was one night where they mixed up my bed, assigning another guest to it without telling me. It was sorted out the next day, but it could have been avoided.
  • 89%
  • 07 Jan 2015 Ian USA
  • Very nice, friendly staff. Great homely feel to the hostel which is also in a great location!
  • 100%
  • 05 Jan 2015 Kaveh Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Spring and Summer are full of musical adventures. Check out our list of some of the world's best (and in some cases lesser-known) music festivals happening this year

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »