See other Portland properties

HI - Portland - Northwest

425 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon, Portland, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 89% from 39 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff was very impolite. Some rooms and restrooms are lovely while others look depressing and ugly with beds that squeak.
  • 37%
  • 24 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • They ask you either to spend $28 a year to join their membership and waive the $3 a day non-member fee or to pay the fee. Hostel.com did not show this cost during the booking process and that makes HI - Portland's price very competitive. When I asked the staff, their answer was that they asked Hostel.com to make it clearer but no change has been made. I would highly suggest them to put the original price at front and make their discount when residents has membership check in.
  • 71%
  • 03 Mar 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • very nice!!!
  • 83%
  • 01 Mar 2014 Yi Taiwan
  • This place is great! The only downside is their policy toward alcohol. I just wanted a few beers inside.
  • 89%
  • 13 Feb 2014 Jeffrey USA
  • I had a wonderful stay in Portland thanks to NW Hostel. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was great for food and walking distance to downtown. My friend and I met a lot of down-to-earth people staying there, and we all hung out like we'd known each other for years. I would recommend this place for anyone thinking of traveling through Portland. Thanks, NW!
  • 97%
  • 13 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • We really loved our stay here! Great location, fun staff, and really nice facilities. I highly recommend it!
  • 100%
  • 10 Jan 2014 Kathleen USA
  • Great place, close to the downtown and public transport. i had a great stay, and was able to extend my stay.
  • 97%
  • 30 Dec 2013 William New Zealand
  • 1. Staff was very helpful over the phone prior to my visit. 2. Hostel is located within walking distance of downtown. 3. Hostel uses key cards for access & offers secured lockers for storage. 4. This is big — hostel offers free coffee & bakery items each morning. 5. Bathrooms were clean & had funny reading material posted on the back of stall doors. 6. Hostel makes a great effort to involve visitors in community with events such as scavenger hunts & group trips. Wish I'd had time to participate!
  • 94%
  • 24 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I also want to stay at the first beautiful building.
  • 97%
  • 27 Nov 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • I had a wonderful one night stay here, staff were very helpful and friendly.
  • 97%
  • 21 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »