See other Portland properties

HI - Portland - Northwest

425 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon, Portland, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 89% from 45 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff surpass all expectations for customer service. They are knowledgeable and informative and just darn good humans
  • 100%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • After a poor experience staying at HI San Fran Fisherman's Wharf I was hesitant about my trip to Portland, but lo and behold the facilities, location and overall experience at the Northwest Portland hostel proved to be much better. I'd definitely return on future visits.
  • 97%
  • 30 Jan 2015 Jeremy USA
  • The staff was super nice and helpful!
  • 97%
  • 23 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • booked a single room for $59 weekday night and $69 weekend night. changed room THREE times the night I arrived (had to drag my luggage all the way myself). their single room is HORRIBLE compared with double room which is only $10 more expensive. really don't understand they could charge me that much for those shabby tiny smelly cold single rooms. had to change to double room later. the staff seemed ignorant of my request. though one of them is quite good and helpful.
  • 80%
  • 07 Jan 2015 Anonymous China
  • There was one night where they mixed up my bed, assigning another guest to it without telling me. It was sorted out the next day, but it could have been avoided.
  • 89%
  • 07 Jan 2015 Ian USA
  • Very nice, friendly staff. Great homely feel to the hostel which is also in a great location!
  • 100%
  • 05 Jan 2015 Kaveh Australia
  • everyone there was really cool and friendly, when I visit Portland again I'll be staying here!
  • 94%
  • 02 Jan 2015 Austin USA
  • Great hostel. Great town. Do something about the consumption of wine etc, more leeway is needed. I enjoyed my stay. Cyril/Homer.
  • 80%
  • 27 Dec 2014 cyril Ireland
  • The building's security and key cards were actually great, but the other residents of the hostel would keep the dorm room open and other doors propped. Thankfully, the lockers were large enough to fit my carry on and backpack so I just locked up everything I had before leaving, but I found it weird to come back to an open door with either people sleeping or no one inside. Other than that, the staff were super kind, the facilities were clean, and the location was great, a short walk to downtown.
  • 83%
  • 11 Dec 2014 Carlos USA
  • The hostel was really clean and convenient. It was really pretty when I went there. People were nice and the price was beyond reasonable. I felt very safe being there too. Highly recommended.
  • 100%
  • 22 Nov 2014 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Travelling alone can be a wonderful experience for solo female travellers. Here are our top tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »