See other Portland properties

HI Portland - Northwest

479 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon, Portland, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 86% from 17 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I'm alarmed I'm even getting this. I cancelled this booking within minutes of making it - weeks in advance of the date. I hope I was not charged for the stay!!
  • 20%
  • 04 Jul 2017 Ava Canada
  • What this hostel lacks is comfortable beds (the pillows are hard and flat and the mattress is thin). The pillow problem could be easily fixed with some inexpensive pillows upgraded at IKEA. The beds also creak any time someone moves so it can be pretty noisy. I could even hear the beds creaking in the room next to mine at night. And there is little atmosphere, likely due to it being a large chain hoste. I was hoping to meet fellow travelers but the hostel always seemed empty.
  • 74%
  • 02 Jul 2017 Lindsey USA
  • Helpful friendly staff. Comfortable atmosphere. I would definitely stay there again.Overall two thumbs up!
  • 91%
  • 26 Jun 2017 Catherine USA
  • I would book it again.
  • 100%
  • 15 Jun 2017 Judit Germany
  • The hostel was in a great location and the staff were very friendly!
  • 100%
  • 03 Jun 2017 Natalie Scotland
  • Best Hostel I have stayed in Portland ever.
  • 100%
  • 18 Apr 2017 Anonymous USA
  • I had an amazing time at Hi hostel! Great central location, friendly staff, awesome facilities and atmosphere. They provided locks for good sized lockers in my dorm for free, as well as free towels to borrow, both of which are uncommon in hostels. I had a private shared bathroom in spite of staying in 6 bed dorm. Plus, delicious homemade bread and cofffee for breakfast. I was traveling alone and really enjoyed all the social activities the hostel arranged. I would absolutely stay again!
  • 89%
  • 14 Mar 2017 Charlotte USA
  • Awesomeness! Cool spot! Free bread and coffee in the am. Cool location close to the Timbers' spot if in season.
  • 91%
  • 22 Dec 2016 Ron
  • The staff was really nice and helpful, I liked that a small breakfast was served in the morning. The room was nice but it would have been nice to have towels there and there was a weird smell (I guess because the building is already a bit older).
  • 74%
  • 21 Dec 2016 Melanie Germany
  • Weak wifi in some rooms was pretty frustrating. No complaints otherwise - good kitchen, good events, good location, good price. Would stay here again.
  • 89%
  • 08 Dec 2016 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »