See other Portland properties

HI - Portland - Northwest

425 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon, Portland, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 87% from 46 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff was super nice and helpful!
  • 97%
  • 23 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • booked a single room for $59 weekday night and $69 weekend night. changed room THREE times the night I arrived (had to drag my luggage all the way myself). their single room is HORRIBLE compared with double room which is only $10 more expensive. really don't understand they could charge me that much for those shabby tiny smelly cold single rooms. had to change to double room later. the staff seemed ignorant of my request. though one of them is quite good and helpful.
  • 80%
  • 07 Jan 2015 Anonymous China
  • There was one night where they mixed up my bed, assigning another guest to it without telling me. It was sorted out the next day, but it could have been avoided.
  • 89%
  • 07 Jan 2015 Ian USA
  • Very nice, friendly staff. Great homely feel to the hostel which is also in a great location!
  • 100%
  • 05 Jan 2015 Kaveh Australia
  • everyone there was really cool and friendly, when I visit Portland again I'll be staying here!
  • 94%
  • 02 Jan 2015 Austin USA
  • Great hostel. Great town. Do something about the consumption of wine etc, more leeway is needed. I enjoyed my stay. Cyril/Homer.
  • 80%
  • 27 Dec 2014 cyril Ireland
  • The building's security and key cards were actually great, but the other residents of the hostel would keep the dorm room open and other doors propped. Thankfully, the lockers were large enough to fit my carry on and backpack so I just locked up everything I had before leaving, but I found it weird to come back to an open door with either people sleeping or no one inside. Other than that, the staff were super kind, the facilities were clean, and the location was great, a short walk to downtown.
  • 83%
  • 11 Dec 2014 Carlos USA
  • The hostel was really clean and convenient. It was really pretty when I went there. People were nice and the price was beyond reasonable. I felt very safe being there too. Highly recommended.
  • 100%
  • 22 Nov 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Great free breakfast, friendly staff, good resources about the area.
  • 100%
  • 19 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This was my first time staying at a hostel and it couldn't have been better. I have stayed at hotels ranging from Double Trees, The Hyett, Hiltons, and other so called swanky 5 starplaces. They all fall short of the great staff of this hostel. The felling of home and family they create for everyone. The events the staff offer. The great location. I just could never stop saying great things about this home feom home.
  • 100%
  • 12 Nov 2014 joseph
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »