See other Portland properties

HI - Portland - Northwest

425 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon, Portland, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 91% from 42 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Third time staying there, this was my least favorite stay. Bunk beds are really nosy and the people that were in the same room as me were really old, there ought to be an age limit for the 8 bedroom dorm. The reason for this request is because I hope that I do not become to tonky one to witness an old man who likes to sleep naked rather than clothes. That being said, the hostel does have an honor code with its guests which most abide by but those few who disobey really give the staff a headache.
  • 66%
  • 23 Jul 2015 Bryan USA
  • Staying there was a great experience. I wish I'd been able to stay longer. The dorm wasn't bad at all, but given the choice (i.e., if I could afford a little higher cost) I'd get a private room. The only down side was the bathtubs and bathroom sinks are really showing their age. They look pretty sad.
  • 97%
  • 23 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Fantastic hostel that is in a prime location that is in a nice neighborhood With plenty of things to do and very close to public transit.
  • 89%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Bryan USA
  • The staff are really friendly and helpful, I feel that they really made my first trip to Portland complete with their knowledge of the city!
  • 97%
  • 27 Jun 2015 RYNE USA
  • great place to stay ! friendly and helpful staff ! good location !
  • 100%
  • 24 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel - friendly staff, beautiful neighborhood, comfortable beds, big lockers, and excellent bathrooms. My only quibbles are a lack of power outlets and they have a small parking lot and street parking can be hard to find.
  • 94%
  • 04 Apr 2015 Ruth USA
  • It's a very nice hostel. The location is really accessible to a lot of the city's attractions. I actually walked to most of the places I was interested in visiting. Unfortunately, I can't say I'd stay there again. The hostel is carpeted, particularly in the bedrooms. Despite taking tons of allergy meds I had a lot of trouble breathing at night and my throat is incredibly sore. They do vacuum daily but with so many people coming in and out perhaps that's not enough, at least for allergy sufferers
  • 97%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I feel that it should be stated online that are hidden tax fees. Also the website does not give you all the information you should know about the hostel. It is better to go through the hostel then it is to go through the websjte, I found out later on.
  • 94%
  • 01 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The staff surpass all expectations for customer service. They are knowledgeable and informative and just darn good humans
  • 100%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • After a poor experience staying at HI San Fran Fisherman's Wharf I was hesitant about my trip to Portland, but lo and behold the facilities, location and overall experience at the Northwest Portland hostel proved to be much better. I'd definitely return on future visits.
  • 97%
  • 30 Jan 2015 Jeremy USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »