See other Portland properties

HI - Portland - Northwest

425 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon, Portland, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 87% from 43 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I thought this hostel was great. It is a walkable distance to downtown. They provide a light breakfast of tea/coffee and toast with peanut butter/jam/butter. The staff was very friendly. The bet part was the entire hostel was kept up and clean. I would definitely recommend to a friend.
  • 100%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great location and friendly staff. Also enjoyed the complimentary parking :) Would definitely recommend staying here.
  • 91%
  • 28 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Because I had reservation I checked in but did not stay the night on account of questionable parking security in area . Neighborhood looked fun, had a brat and pasta salad , toured the facilities , seemed very homey , clean and comfortable...would have stayed if traveling on foot , bike or bus . Car was full of valuable artist materials, golf clubs , clothes .. too risky . In a few minutes developed infatuation for gal who checked me in . Her significant other is lucky. I'm available , find me
  • 80%
  • 26 Aug 2014 Gary USA
  • Pretty good hostel. Great location, activities and staff. Only issue was the outlet in the bedroom. Coming from Australia I need use an adaptor. The one I have is the standard 3 prong one that I have used all over the States but the outlet in the bedrooms have 2 prongs so I had to go and buy a new adapter to use for only 4 days. Really annoying! There are 3 pronged outlets in the kitchen, bathroom and common area but not in the bedroom where you need it most!
  • 89%
  • 16 Aug 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • The location is poor due to finding a parking spot. It is a very crowded area for street parking.
  • 66%
  • 09 Aug 2014 sarah USA
  • I spent 4 nights here and it was a pleasure. It's on a great location and super easy to walk to all the important and relevant places. The staff were friendly and helpful. The area is safe and as a solo female traveller I felt at my ease here. I'd go again. Only down side is their breakfast. It's not very fresh and once is gone it's gone so wake up early if you want to be fed!
  • 71%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Anonymous Ireland
  • Extremely friendly, helpful and patient staff. Highly recommended.
  • 94%
  • 23 Jul 2014 Matt USA
  • Ahh. The smell of urine in the morning. The dorms and halls smelled of urine. We booked a 8-bed dorm, but had to stay in a 16-bed dorm with one bathroom and shower to share. The bathroom could not have been washed for some time as there was a hard soap completely stuck to the bathtub. The staff was not friendly at all. The were not mean, but they spent most of their time looking not happy and yelling about the smoking area and the "drinking" area. Breakfast was OK.
  • 43%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Anonymous Norway
  • Fun stay for a great price. I recommend it!
  • 77%
  • 09 Jun 2014 Connor USA
  • I absolutely love this hostel! I love how it's so clean and quiet. I actually took my Dad here!
  • 100%
  • 09 May 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »