See other Portland properties

HI - Portland - Northwest

425 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon, Portland, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 88% from 44 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This was my first time staying at a hostel and it couldn't have been better. I have stayed at hotels ranging from Double Trees, The Hyett, Hiltons, and other so called swanky 5 starplaces. They all fall short of the great staff of this hostel. The felling of home and family they create for everyone. The events the staff offer. The great location. I just could never stop saying great things about this home feom home.
  • 100%
  • 12 Nov 2014 joseph
  • I am impressed by this hostel. Everything was perfectly clean, staff is willing to help with anything, the kitchen is big and equipped for cooking, filtered water for free, excellent Wi-Fi connection, the place is calm and peaceful. It is possible to wash clothes, they recycle garbage.
  • 100%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • In an awesome location! Very close to public transportation, very close the the Pearl District. It is close to places like Chinatown, Voodoo Donuts, Providence Park, and Pioneer Place are all walkable from the hostel. The bathrooms are clean, the showers/tubs are clean and old school so you have to stretch your leg pretty far so be careful. Laundry facalities onsite is a plus and so is breakfast including locally brewed coffee. They also sell bath soap for 50 cents which is awesome.
  • 94%
  • 08 Oct 2014 Bryan USA
  • Ok, so besides the very loudly snoring man above me, this place was all around great. Staff ( the staff was especially friendly and helpful ) rooms, amenities, location, all were above par. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone coming to Portland.
  • 100%
  • 05 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • To few Bathrooms for the amount of Beds in each room, The hostel itself is couple very nicely restored Victorian homes in a Safe Neighborhood. Not too far of a walk into town.
  • 97%
  • 26 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very pleased overall with hostel!! Stayed in 8 bed female dorm and liked the separate sleeping areas, clean, and comfortable amount of space. Only issue I had was that I became very congested and had cold-like symptoms every night, not sure if due to open window and/or fan. Have stayed in other hostels and this was not an issue so hoping it was not due to pillow or something like that. Otherwise, common areas were very pleasant, lots of helpful info about neighborhood, and enjoyed pub crawls!
  • 83%
  • 14 Sep 2014 Rachel USA
  • We loved our stay. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were well kept. They had plenty of facilities to make our stay comfortable. It also wasn't full of young drunk kids like some other hostels I've stayed at. In general, Portland is very walkable, and I felt the location was within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go and just a few blocks away from nice shops and restaurants. And when not, the bus stop is just a block away. Would definitely recommend to a friend.
  • 94%
  • 13 Sep 2014 Melissa USA
  • I thought this hostel was great. It is a walkable distance to downtown. They provide a light breakfast of tea/coffee and toast with peanut butter/jam/butter. The staff was very friendly. The bet part was the entire hostel was kept up and clean. I would definitely recommend to a friend.
  • 100%
  • 29 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great location and friendly staff. Also enjoyed the complimentary parking :) Would definitely recommend staying here.
  • 91%
  • 28 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Because I had reservation I checked in but did not stay the night on account of questionable parking security in area . Neighborhood looked fun, had a brat and pasta salad , toured the facilities , seemed very homey , clean and comfortable...would have stayed if traveling on foot , bike or bus . Car was full of valuable artist materials, golf clubs , clothes .. too risky . In a few minutes developed infatuation for gal who checked me in . Her significant other is lucky. I'm available , find me
  • 80%
  • 26 Aug 2014 Gary USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mouth-watering holiday dishes!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »