See other Portland properties

HI Portland - Northwest

425 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon, Portland, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 86% from 21 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Better to make it clear that hostel does not have the elevator so that the visitor would bring the awareness in case of having a big luggage. There are a number of steps that you have to carry in the front door and the way to storage room.
  • 80%
  • 17 May 2016 Teerawat Thailand
  • Staff were friendly and help, other guests were friend as well. Building is older, but gives it charm. Claw-foot tubs can be risky when as uncoordinated as I am. Showers can get hot and have good water pressure. Pretty clean despite the age of the building - and linens and towels were all clean. Breakfast bread donated by a local bakery was delicious, even day old. Would *DEFINITELY* recommend staying here. I hope to stay here again when I'm next in Portland.
  • 97%
  • 11 Apr 2016 Anonymous USA
  • A very friendly staff, friendly environment. Good prices, lots to do.
  • 100%
  • 17 Feb 2016 Jason USA
  • Like most of the HI hostels I've stayed in the location is great. Took the Red Line Max from the airport to Providence Park and was only a 7-8 min walk. On the other side it was also like most HI hostels in that the atmosphere is a little uptight and the group outings are pretty lame. I understand it was February but the vibe is still basic.
  • 66%
  • 06 Feb 2016 Kevin USA
  • wonderful
  • 83%
  • 03 Feb 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Great location. My only annoyance was the bright EXIT sign that was in eye line with my pillow. Had to hang a towel to block the light from my eyes.
  • 86%
  • 21 Dec 2015 Carl USA
  • Very nice hostel and full of history. the staff are help and facilities is good.
  • 94%
  • 13 Dec 2015 Anonymous China
  • Such a beautiful hostel, pretty close to downtown Portland (I walked most of the time, except for when I was running late). Lots of beautiful trees and outdoor seating, also several different cozy common areas that made it easy to meet other travelers. Free breads from local cafes and coffee in the morning, and they offered many different events even though I didn't have the time to attend any. The staff was all very kind and helpful. Clean, and (with some extra bedding) comfortable.
  • 94%
  • 06 Nov 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Is a old, nice and big house. it have good location, it 's clean, but they should improve breakfast because is very poor.
  • 83%
  • 05 Nov 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • Good location, friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely recommend.
  • 94%
  • 06 Sep 2015 Michael USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

It's not hard to find something free to do in New Zealand; you just have to look up! Here are five ideas of what to see in this marvellous country with no need to dip into your ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »