See other Portland properties

HI - Portland - Northwest

425 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon, Portland, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 86% from 39 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Pretty good hostel. Great location, activities and staff. Only issue was the outlet in the bedroom. Coming from Australia I need use an adaptor. The one I have is the standard 3 prong one that I have used all over the States but the outlet in the bedrooms have 2 prongs so I had to go and buy a new adapter to use for only 4 days. Really annoying! There are 3 pronged outlets in the kitchen, bathroom and common area but not in the bedroom where you need it most!
  • 89%
  • 16 Aug 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • The location is poor due to finding a parking spot. It is a very crowded area for street parking.
  • 66%
  • 09 Aug 2014 sarah USA
  • I spent 4 nights here and it was a pleasure. It's on a great location and super easy to walk to all the important and relevant places. The staff were friendly and helpful. The area is safe and as a solo female traveller I felt at my ease here. I'd go again. Only down side is their breakfast. It's not very fresh and once is gone it's gone so wake up early if you want to be fed!
  • 71%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Anonymous Ireland
  • Extremely friendly, helpful and patient staff. Highly recommended.
  • 94%
  • 23 Jul 2014 Matt USA
  • Ahh. The smell of urine in the morning. The dorms and halls smelled of urine. We booked a 8-bed dorm, but had to stay in a 16-bed dorm with one bathroom and shower to share. The bathroom could not have been washed for some time as there was a hard soap completely stuck to the bathtub. The staff was not friendly at all. The were not mean, but they spent most of their time looking not happy and yelling about the smoking area and the "drinking" area. Breakfast was OK.
  • 43%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Anonymous Norway
  • Fun stay for a great price. I recommend it!
  • 77%
  • 09 Jun 2014 Connor USA
  • I absolutely love this hostel! I love how it's so clean and quiet. I actually took my Dad here!
  • 100%
  • 09 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Pretty expensive, but not many options for hostels in Portland...the location was excellent though!
  • 83%
  • 04 May 2014 Hannah Australia
  • Friendly service and nice atmosphere. Thank you for answering all my questions!
  • 100%
  • 02 May 2014 Jordan Canada
  • Only stayed one night, but it was fantastic. Comfy beds, nice people and the enviroment is great. I will definitely stay here again if I ever come back. Minor downside is the lack of fresh air in the dorm, but that is what you get when 8 guys sleep together.
  • 100%
  • 23 Apr 2014 Lars Erik
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

While most party-hard backpackers in Europe stick to the big cities like Paris, London and Barcelona, you might end up cutting your nights (or even your trip) short. These cities come at a cost and just one cocktail can run upwards of $15. Luckily there are so many other beautiful cities around Europe which offer an exciting nightlife at half or even a third of the cost.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »