See other Portland properties

HI Portland - Northwest

425 NW 18th Avenue, Oregon, Portland, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 87% from 16 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel is in an old wooden building in a quiet neighborhood. There is a big grocery store within a walking distance and smaller one quite close by. Plenty of thrift shops in the area and the Pearl district with plenty of breweries (that also serve good food) is close by. The MAX red line that goes all the way to the airport is roughly a 15 min walk away. The hostel has a well-equipped kitchen and a nice outdoors area for hanging out. Large lockers in the rooms. Luggage storage available.
  • 89%
  • 05 Sep 2016 Anonymous Finland
  • I loved this place, the back courtyard area was amazing. The staff was a little harsh about some things. One girl would yell at us for being loud after hours, which I get it, but you don't have to be nasty about it. Also maybe I'm used to European hostels where you can drink alcohol inside, but that is not allowed here. Also fine, just let people know ahead of time as not to get yelled at for opening a beer. I came in late at night but I was never shown around the place or told there was coffee.
  • 94%
  • 22 Aug 2016 Erin USA
  • Staff was friendly and helpful. Nothing really to complain about here. I especially loved the hostel-sponsored events I attended! One was a brewery tour/bar crawl and the other was a live music show in the garden.
  • 91%
  • 24 Jul 2016 Jamie USA
  • Better to make it clear that hostel does not have the elevator so that the visitor would bring the awareness in case of having a big luggage. There are a number of steps that you have to carry in the front door and the way to storage room.
  • 80%
  • 17 May 2016 Teerawat Thailand
  • Staff were friendly and help, other guests were friend as well. Building is older, but gives it charm. Claw-foot tubs can be risky when as uncoordinated as I am. Showers can get hot and have good water pressure. Pretty clean despite the age of the building - and linens and towels were all clean. Breakfast bread donated by a local bakery was delicious, even day old. Would *DEFINITELY* recommend staying here. I hope to stay here again when I'm next in Portland.
  • 97%
  • 11 Apr 2016 Anonymous USA
  • A very friendly staff, friendly environment. Good prices, lots to do.
  • 100%
  • 17 Feb 2016 Jason USA
  • Like most of the HI hostels I've stayed in the location is great. Took the Red Line Max from the airport to Providence Park and was only a 7-8 min walk. On the other side it was also like most HI hostels in that the atmosphere is a little uptight and the group outings are pretty lame. I understand it was February but the vibe is still basic.
  • 66%
  • 06 Feb 2016 Kevin USA
  • wonderful
  • 83%
  • 03 Feb 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Great location. My only annoyance was the bright EXIT sign that was in eye line with my pillow. Had to hang a towel to block the light from my eyes.
  • 86%
  • 21 Dec 2015 Carl USA
  • Very nice hostel and full of history. the staff are help and facilities is good.
  • 94%
  • 13 Dec 2015 Anonymous China
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »