See other San Diego properties

HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel

521 Market St, CA 92101, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 82% from 19 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The location is very convenient but just a bit noisy at night. All staff and roommates are friendly. Especially the volunteer in the tour. They are all very helpful. About the facilities, it would be better if there is air conditioner. It's quite hot at night. Overall, we have a good stay here.
  • 83%
  • 23 Jul 2015 Ching Ning Hong Kong
  • Eu recomendo esse hostel. ótima localização com staff bastante atencioso.
  • 89%
  • 02 Jul 2015 MARCIO Brazil
  • The staff was wery helpfull in any situation. The handled the situation well during night time .facilities were clean and big.
  • 97%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • Facilities are great and if your just there for a place to stay it's fine. Atmosphere within the hostel was dreadful there was hardly anybody staying there and the only people I encountered were 60-70 year old men which were in my dorm not ideal when I'm out to meet people.
  • 60%
  • 07 Jun 2015 Anonymous
  • Wish there would be more food for continental breakfast.
  • 83%
  • 02 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Great place to stay on a budget in downtown SD!
    Owner Comment

    That's what we love to hear! Thanks for staying with us. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

  • 89%
  • 10 Apr 2015 Briggette USA
  • It was a great location, very friendly and helpful staff (they even printed off something I needed no problem). The hostel has such a great atmosphere - big, clean, well decorated. I loved the swings in the lobby. If I were in the area I would definitely stay there again
    Owner Comment

    Thanks so much! We really appreciate the feedback and the business. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

  • 100%
  • 07 Apr 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • I checked in Hi-San Diego from Mar21 to 26. I shared a four bedroom, while sleeping in my bed after a long flight, at 2 am a drunk guy staying in the same room came into the room kicking the door. At 4 am two other guys (not from the room) came to the room. All of them started smoking in the room till 6 am. I complained to the front desk. The girl in shift was not helpful at all. Although cigarettes and smoking smell was in the room, NOTHING was done. I checked out early next day. Not returning!
    Owner Comment

    Our apologies for this unfortunate situation. This is not typical, and was obviously mishandled. We will look into this and make sure it does not happen again. Thank you for your business and for bringing this to our attention. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

  • 34%
  • 21 Mar 2015 Federico Ecuador
  • I expected a better hostel since I had been in many others HI.
    Owner Comment

    Our apologies that we didn't meet your expectations. We will follow up with you personally to find out what we are lacking and look to make those improvements in the future. Thanks for the comments and your business. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

  • 57%
  • 14 Mar 2015 Anonymous Colombia
  • Awesome spot! Great location and amenities for the money! My girlfriend and I had a private room, shared bathroom, and we honestly felt like we were staying in a nice hotel room. This place is great for the social butterflies, but also for those of us who like to keep to ourselves. It's perfect for everyone :)
    Owner Comment

    Thank you so much for the awesome review! Reviews like this one keep us going strong. Come back and see us again soon! All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

  • 89%
  • 12 Jan 2015 megan USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »