See other San Diego properties

HI - San Diego - Downtown Hostel

521 Market St, CA 92101, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 86% from 20 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I checked in Hi-San Diego from Mar21 to 26. I shared a four bedroom, while sleeping in my bed after a long flight, at 2 am a drunk guy staying in the same room came into the room kicking the door. At 4 am two other guys (not from the room) came to the room. All of them started smoking in the room till 6 am. I complained to the front desk. The girl in shift was not helpful at all. Although cigarettes and smoking smell was in the room, NOTHING was done. I checked out early next day. Not returning!
  • 34%
  • 21 Mar 2015 Federico Ecuador
  • I expected a better hostel since I had been in many others HI.
  • 57%
  • 14 Mar 2015 Anonymous Colombia
  • Awesome spot! Great location and amenities for the money! My girlfriend and I had a private room, shared bathroom, and we honestly felt like we were staying in a nice hotel room. This place is great for the social butterflies, but also for those of us who like to keep to ourselves. It's perfect for everyone :)
    Owner Comment

    Thank you so much for the awesome review! Reviews like this one keep us going strong. Come back and see us again soon! All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

  • 89%
  • 12 Jan 2015 megan USA
  • The communal kitchen was great and some of the staff extremely helpful!
    Owner Comment

    We are glad to hear that you liked the hostel and our great staff. Please come back and see us again in the future. Thanks for the business and the review. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

  • 86%
  • 30 Dec 2014 Anonymous France
  • Great space in the midst of the city. Only snag is windows are thin so you hear all the street noise every night.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks a lot for the great review. We are in the middle of the lively Gaslamp Quarter, so we highly recommend that if you are a light sleeper that you call us ahead of time so that we can do our best to get you in a quiet room. We really appreciate the review and the business. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

  • 94%
  • 01 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Thought the staff member who cleaned the rooms and sung over the top of her ipod was a gem. Very helpful staff.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you very much! We will pass your comments along to her. All the best, Hi San Diego Downtown

  • 83%
  • 05 Nov 2014 Leith Australia
  • This hostel couldn't be in a more central location--right in the heart of the Gaslamp district, a short bus ride from the zoo, just a few blocks' walk from the Convention Center...and you can easily get to the airport by walking a few blocks and catching a city bus. The staff are very helpful and cheerful and the facility is bright, clean and inviting. Better than a luxury hotel, because you can also do your laundry! I strongly recommend this place.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We really appreciate it as well as your business. Please come back and see us again really soon. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

  • 97%
  • 13 Oct 2014 Kathy USA
  • Only way to experience a busy evening in the Gaslamp District. You are at the epicenter of fun and a short distance toany of SDs other attractions. Great staff and clean facilities
    Owner Comment

    Awesome! So glad you had a good time. Thanks a bunch for staying with us. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

  • 97%
  • 04 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Everthing is great in hostel.
    Owner Comment

    Must be all the great guests we get ;) Thanks a lot! All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

  • 100%
  • 27 Sep 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Great staff, they were so helpful in my visit. Very kind hostel, overall superb experience!
    Owner Comment

    Thank you! This is great feedback and we will pass it along to all the staff. We really appreciate the business and the comments. All the best, HI San Diego Downtown

  • 94%
  • 13 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Here are some of the best places to hit up once your university days are over!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »