See other San Diego properties

HI San Diego - Downtown

521 Market St, CA 92101, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 86% from 13 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great hostel, could not have asked for a better experience :) The staff was great, the rooms and bathrooms got cleaned everyday. In my experience, not noisy at all even though located in a busy part of San Diego. I would definitely recommend!
  • 100%
  • 27 Jan 2016 Melisa Canada
  • This is a very efficiently run hostel in the downtown area of San Diego. I especially liked the very large, clean kitchen and dining areas as well as the movie room and mini library with new books for our reading pleasure. In addition, the free breakfasts and cheap dinners were excellent.
  • 100%
  • 18 Jan 2016 Norma USA
  • Overall, this is one of the best hostels where I have stayed. Very helpful staff, nice bedrooms, clean bathroom, free breakfast foods and location in the Gaslamp Quarters area with plenty of places to eat and things to do.
  • 97%
  • 15 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • clean, good location and reasonable price. but the neighborhood was pretty noisy at night because it was in a bar area.
  • 83%
  • 19 Nov 2015 Anonymous China
  • The location is very convenient but just a bit noisy at night. All staff and roommates are friendly. Especially the volunteer in the tour. They are all very helpful. About the facilities, it would be better if there is air conditioner. It's quite hot at night. Overall, we have a good stay here.
  • 83%
  • 23 Jul 2015 Ching Ning Hong Kong
  • Eu recomendo esse hostel. ótima localização com staff bastante atencioso.
  • 89%
  • 02 Jul 2015 MARCIO Brazil
  • The staff was wery helpfull in any situation. The handled the situation well during night time .facilities were clean and big.
  • 97%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Anonymous Finland
  • Facilities are great and if your just there for a place to stay it's fine. Atmosphere within the hostel was dreadful there was hardly anybody staying there and the only people I encountered were 60-70 year old men which were in my dorm not ideal when I'm out to meet people.
  • 60%
  • 07 Jun 2015 Anonymous
  • Wish there would be more food for continental breakfast.
  • 83%
  • 02 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »