See other San Francisco properties

HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel

685 Ellis Street, CA 94109, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.9km

Rating: 84% from 32 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 71%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Our room was squeaky clean, and very comfortable. Most of the staff members were extremely friendly and went above and beyond to give directions and tips for getting to wherever we wished to go. The Chinatown tour with Anthony was an incredibly unique and enriching experience. His knowledge and love of the area enhanced our experience and this tour quickly became one of the highlights of our trip!
  • 89%
  • 28 Jul 2015 Maria USA
  • While the location of the hostel is in a "sketchy" area is sort of a drawback, however, being out of their control, the price, cleanliness, and helpfulness of the staff definitely made my stay in San Francisco a memorable experience. The district the hostel is located in is the Tenderloin, which does have a sizable homeless population, however, since the hostel is also near the city hall a fair amount of policemen patrol the area. Just exercise usual precaution and you'll be fine.
  • 94%
  • 14 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • THe hostel was really nice, maybe a bit big (made it hard to meet people) and unfortunately located in a really "sketchy" area. Walking there with my backpack from the BART (as a solo-girl traveller) made me feel very uneasy, same thing walking from the hostel back to the BART. The neighbourhood is really bad, but the hostel is really nice and you can't get a better price in such a central location.
  • 80%
  • 09 Jul 2015 Julia Sweden
  • 不错的宿舍,住了5天,价格有点偏贵,其他都还行,五湖四海的兄弟姐妹都有,离景点都挺近的,好评!
  • 83%
  • 29 Jun 2015 Guo Hui China
  • very friendly and welcoming atmosphere.
  • 89%
  • 25 Jun 2015 Christopher USA
  • Enjoyed very much from staying at the hostel. Great location, great atmosphere and great breakfast(: Would definitely come back again!
  • 97%
  • 18 Jun 2015 Vladimir Israel
  • When I checked in the bed given to me was used. I requested a change of beddings but the staff won't change my comforter because the hostel simply doesn't change them until 2 different persons have already used it which I think is so unsanitary.
  • 63%
  • 30 May 2015 Anonymous Philippines
  • Was a fun stay! Thanks
  • 80%
  • 15 May 2015 Eun-Sang USA
  • I've been to 100s of hostels in my lifetime, all over the world. SF CCH is on the top of my list for US hostels. Amazing atmosphere, great location, super clean and very secure. Great people, delicious bfast ( included ), awesome decor. Cheap beer (happy hour 2-3 dollars a pint ). Access to pro kitchen utilities. Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. The price I guess isn't really a good price ( 39.00 / night ), but for SF it is the norm and relatively cheaper than most.
  • 97%
  • 28 Apr 2015 Ruben
  • Room was very clean. Bed was so comfortable. Best room in a hostel for comfort , size and cleanliness, of any I have stayed in. Breakfast was more than sufficient.
  • 86%
  • 11 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »